Thursday, September 27, 2018

Led Zeppelin mark 50th anniversary with new digital releases

Led Zeppelin are continuing their 50th anniversary celebrations with the immediate release of three new digital-only packages.

On September 27, 1968, John Bonham, John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page and Robert Plant convened in Olympic Studios in London to begin recording their debut album as Led Zeppelin; a mere 36 hours in the studio followed and “Led Zeppelin” was complete. Produced by Page, the album was released in January 1969 and launched one of the most legendary catalogs in rock history.

To celebrate this historic golden anniversary, the band have unveiled three new digital-only releases today on all digital download and streaming platforms.

“Led Zeppelin x Led Zeppelin” is a comprehensive, career-spanning 30-track collection (see song list below) traversing all eight of the band’s landmark studio albums including definitive tracks such as “Immigrant Song”, “Whole Lotta Love”, “Kashmir”, “Ramble On” and “Stairway To Heaven.” The set also includes the Sunset Sound Mix of “Rock And Roll,” making its digital debut after being released for the first time earlier this year on Record Store Day as a limited edition 7-inch vinyl single, which is now the best-selling release in Record Store Day history.

“An Introduction To Led Zeppelin” serves as a 10-track entry point to the group and features all the previously mentioned classic songs along with “Black Dog”, “Good Times Bad Times”, “Going To California” and “Over The Hills And Far Away.”

The final release is the digital version of the band’s first ever Record Store Day release, previously available earlier this year as a limited edition 7" vinyl single. The two-track set features the digital debut of the Olympic Studios Mix of “Friends” a stripped down version without the orchestration of the final mix, along with the aforementioned “Rock And Roll” (Sunset Sound Mix).

Led Zeppelin launched their 50th anniversary earlier this month with the release of the remastered soundtrack to the concert film, “The Song Remains The Same.”

On October 9, the iconic hard rock group will publish “Led Zeppelin By Led Zeppelin”, the first and only official illustrated book to be produced in collaboration with the members of the band.

Led Zeppelin
"Led Zeppelin x Led Zeppelin" digital-only album

Release date: September 27

01. Immigrant Song
02. Rock And Roll (Sunset Sound Mix)
03. Whole Lotta Love
04. Black Dog
05. Stairway To Heaven
06. Good Times Bad Times
07. Going To California
08. Ramble On
09. Kashmir
10. Over The Hills And Far Away
11. Hey Hey What Can I Do
12. D'Yer Maker
13. When The Levee Breaks
14. All My Love
15. Babe I'm Gonna Leave You
16. Heartbreaker
17. Dazed And Confused
18. The Song Remains The Same
19. Fool In The Rain
20. The Ocean
21. What Is And What Should Never Be
22. Houses Of The Holy
23. Since I've Been Loving You
24. Misty Mountain Hop
25. Communication Breakdown
26. Thank You
27. No Quarter
28. Trampled Under Foot
29. I Can't Quit You Babe
30. In The Evening

See also:

Led Zeppelin: Song Remains The Same soundtrack returns to US charts
Led Zeppelin: The Song Remains The Same reissue radio special
VIDEO: Led Zeppelin preview Song Remains The Same reissue
VIDEO: Led Zeppelin preview official 50th anniversary book
Search Led Zeppelin at hennemusic