Tuesday, October 16, 2018

The Kinks: Dave Davies streams video for song from new Decade collection

Guitarist Dave Davies of The Kinks is streaming a video for the track “This Precious Time (Long Lonely Road)” from his newly-released collection, “Decade.”

“It was a song that was special to me, and I kept coming back to it,” says Davies. “It’s great to finally be able to hear it as I’d originally envisaged. I’m very proud of it, as I am of all the songs on this album.”

“Decade” presents 13 unreleased tunes from the 1970s, acting, essentially, as a companion to the 2011 package, “Hidden Treasures”, which did the same with the rocker’s unused songs from the 1960s.

The guitarist’s material remained on the shelf as brother Ray Davies used his songs to focus The Kinks’ efforts on a series of concept albums.

“We were busy, and we were touring,” recalls Dave. “The Kinks were very vibrant that whole period of time. It wasn’t really until the end of the ‘70s that I started to really take my writing seriously. I should have done it anyway – because what’s ‘serious’ and ‘not serious’? Just get stuff out, you know?”

Davies plans to perform some of the tracks from “Decade” on a rare 2-week series of US dates next April.

In the meantime, the surviving members of The Kinks (bassist Pete Quaife passed away in 2010) have reunited to work on a new album after more than two decades apart.

Dave Davies

Release date: October 12

01. “Cradle To The Grave”
02. “Midnight Sun”
03. “Islands”
04. “If You Are Leaving”
05. “Web Of Time”
06. “Mystic Woman”
07. “Give You All My Love”
08. “The Journey”
09. “Within Each Day”
10. “Same Old Blues”
11. “Mr. Moon”
12. “Shadows”
13. “This Precious Time (Long Lonely Road)”

See also:

The Kinks: Dave Davies streams previously unreleased track Same Old Blues
VIDEO: The Kinks preview Village Green Preservation Society reissue
The Kinks: Dave Davies previews unreleased 1970s collection Decade
The Kinks stream unreleased 1968 song from 50th anniversary reissue
Search The Kinks at hennemusic