Thursday, November 29, 2018

Neil Young streams The Losing End from archival Songs For Judy live album

Neil Young is streaming audio of a live acoustic performance of “The Losing End” from the new archival package, “Songs For Judy.”

Available November 30, the project features a collection of performances from various stops on Young’s November 1976 tour, presenting a mix of classic tracks alongside new material and the debut release of the rarity “No One Seems To Know.”

As Rolling Stone notes, “The Losing End” from 1969’’s “Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere” was recorded during the second of two shows in a single evening at the Fox Theater in Atlanta, GA on November 24, 1976, just 24 hours before Young jammed with The Band at “The Last Waltz” event in San Francisco, CA.

Tour photographer Joel Bernstein recorded the shows on cassette tape with the original intention of creating his own archives of the trek, which he and Rolling Stone writer Cameron Crowe did back in the day and were tasked with putting together the 2018 package.

"The shows were reckless and beautiful," explains Crowe, who was on the road with the Canadian rocker at the time. "The evenings began with an hour-long acoustic solo set from Neil. The acoustic portion of the evening morphed nightly, often fueled by a smoke or two just behind the curtain. After a break, Neil and Crazy Horse would return for a barn-burner of an electric set designed to level the place. They succeeded nightly."

“Songs For Judy” will be initially be available via CD and digital, with a vinyl edition to follow on December 14.

Neil Young
“Songs For Judy”

Release date: November 30

01. Songs For Judy Intro (Atlanta, GA, Nov 24 [late show])
02. Too Far Gone (Boulder, CO, Nov 06)
03. No One Seems To Know (Boulder, CO, Nov 07)
04. Heart Of Gold (Fort Worth, TX, Nov 10)
05. White Line (Fort Worth, TX, Nov 10)
06. Love Is A Rose (Houston, TX, Nov 11)
07. After The Gold Rush (Houston, TX, Nov 11)
08. Human Highway (Madison, WI, Nov 14)
09. Tell Me Why (Chicago, IL, Nov 15 [late show])
10. Mr. Soul (New York, NY, Nov 20 [early show])
11. Mellow My Mind (New York, NY, Nov 20 [early show])
12. Give Me Strength (New York, NY, Nov 20 [late show])
13. Man Needs A Maid (New York, NY, Nov 20 [late show])
14. Roll Another Number (Boston, MA, Nov 22 [late show])
15. Journey Through The Past (Boston, MA, Nov 22 [late show])
16. Harvest (Boston, MA, Nov 22 [late show])
17. Campaigner (Boston, MA, Nov 22 [late show])
18. Old Laughing Lady (Atlanta, GA, Nov 24 [early show])
19. The Losing End (Atlanta, GA, Nov 24 [late show])
20. Here We Are In The Years (Atlanta, GA, Nov 24 [late show])
21. The Needle And The Damage Done (Atlanta, GA, Nov 24 [early show])
22. Pocahontas (Atlanta, GA, Nov 24 [late show])
23. Sugar Mountain (Atlanta, GA, Nov 24 [late show])

Note: all dates are from 1976 tour

See also:

Neil Young to release archival 1976 acoustic live album Songs For Judy
REPORT: Neil Young marries Daryl Hannah
VIDEO: Neil Young streams solo concert webcast from Detroit
Neil Young and John Mellencamp among Farm Aid 2018 performers
Search Neil Young at hennemusic