Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Keith Richards previews expanded Talk Is Cheap 30th anniversary reissue

Keith Richards is streaming a lyric video for his cover of Jimmy Reed’s “My Babe”, a previously-unreleased track set to appear on the forthcoming expanded 30th anniversary reissue of his 1988 solo debut, “Talk Is Cheap.”

The Rolling Stones rocker recorded the set with his band The X-Pensive Winos, the core of which consisted of drummer and co-producer Steve Jordan, guitarist Waddy Wachtel, pianist Ivan Neville and bassist Charley Drayton; a series of special guests included Parliament-Funkadelic members Bootsy Collins and Bernie Worrell, The Memphis Horns, Patti Scialfa, and Stones associates Mick Taylor and Chuck Leavell.

Originally introduced with the lead single, “Take It So Hard”, the project reached No. 54 on the US Billboard 200 on its way to earning gold record status.

Due March 29, the expanded reissue adds six bonus tracks - four of which feature pianist Johnnie Johnson, including: “My Babe”, Eddie Taylor's “Big Town Playboy”, “Blues Jam” and “Slim.”

“This album holds up,“ says Richards. “I’ve been listening to it, and not through the mists of nostalgia either, because it doesn’t affect me that way. This is more than the sum of its parts. I really admire it. We were having fun and you can hear it.”

The 30th Anniversary Reissue of "Talk Is Cheap" will be released via multiple formats, including Super Deluxe and Deluxe box sets, CD, LP, and digital.

The project arrives a few weeks before Richards and The Rolling Stones launch their 2019 No Filter US tour at the Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, FL on April 20.

Keith Richards
“Talk Is Cheap” 30th anniversary reissue

Release date: March 29

Single CD, Vinyl track list

01. Big Enough
02. Take It So Hard
03. Struggle
04. I Could Have Stood You Up
05. Make No Mistake
06. You Don’t Move Me
07. How I Wish
08. Rockawhile
09. Whip It Up
10. Locked Away
11. It Means A Lot

Deluxe & Super Deluxe Box Set bonus tracks

01. Blues Jam
02. My Babe
03. Slim
04. Big Town Playboy
05. Mark On Me
06. Brute Force

See also:

The Rolling Stones expand No Filter tour with New Orleans Jazz Fest show
The Rolling Stones expand No Filter US tour
The Rolling Stones: Keith Richards previews No Filter US tour
The Rolling Stones: Mick Jagger previews No Filter US tour
Search Rolling Stones at hennemusic