Friday, March 8, 2019

Keith Richards streams unreleased blues track from expanded Talk Is Cheap reissue

Keith Richards is streaming a lyric video for his cover of Eddie Taylor’s “Big Town Playboy”, a previously-unreleased track set to appear on the forthcoming expanded 30th anniversary reissue of his 1988 solo debut, “Talk Is Cheap.”

First issued by the Mississippi blues man following his relocation to Chicago, the tune was the b-side to Taylor’s 1956 cover of the 1937 Bukka White single “Shake ‘Em On Down” – which The Rolling Stones recorded as “Ride ‘Em On Down” for their Grammy Award-winning 2016 album, “Blue And Lonesome.”

Featuring pianist Johnnie Johnson and former Stones guitarist Mick Taylor, the Richards version is one of six bonus tracks included on the expanded 2019 reissue of his first solo release.

Originally introduced with the lead single, “Take It So Hard”, the project reached No. 54 on the US Billboard 200 on its way to earning gold record status.

Due March 29, the 30th Anniversary reissue of "Talk Is Cheap" will be released via multiple formats, including Super Deluxe and Deluxe box sets, CD, LP, and digital.

The project arrives a few weeks before Richards and The Rolling Stones launch their 2019 No Filter tour at the Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, FL on April 20.

Keith Richards
“Talk Is Cheap” 30th anniversary reissue

Release date: March 29

Single CD, Vinyl Track List

01. Big Enough
02. Take It So Hard
03. Struggle
04. I Could Have Stood You Up
05. Make No Mistake
06. You Don’t Move Me
07. How I Wish
08. Rockawhile
09. Whip It Up
10. Locked Away
11. It Means A Lot

Deluxe & Super Deluxe Box Set Bonus Tracks

01. Blues Jam
02. My Babe
03. Slim
04. Big Town Playboy
05. Mark On Me
06. Brute Force

See also:

The Rolling Stones add lone Canadian date to No Filter tour
VIDEO: Mick Jagger previews new music from The Rolling Stones
Keith Richards previews expanded Talk Is Cheap 30th anniversary reissue
The Rolling Stones expand No Filter tour with New Orleans Jazz Fest show
Search Rolling Stones at hennemusic