Thursday, March 14, 2019

The Rolling Stones announce Honk hits collection

The Rolling Stones will release a new best-of collection, “Honk”, on April 19.

Available in multiple versions – including single-CD and 2LP editions featuring 20 songs, and a deluxe 3CD/4LP set with 46 tracks – the package will deliver the biggest hits and classic cuts from every Rolling Stones studio album from 1971 to 2016.

Among the classics featured on “Honk” are the group’s eight Top 10 singles: “Brown Sugar”, “Tumbling Dice”, “Angie”, “It’s Only Rock’n’Roll (But I Like It)”, “Fool To Cry”, “Miss You”, “Emotional Rescue” and “Start Me Up.”

The 3CD/4LP Deluxe Editions compile 36 studio tunes over two discs, with a third featuring 10 live tracks recorded during the band’s more recent sold-out tours – some with special guests including Dave Grohl (“Bitch”), Brad Paisley (“Dead Flowers”), Ed Sheeran (“Beast Of Burden”) and Florence + The Machine singer Florence Welch, who can be heard performing “Wild Horses” from the group’s May 2018 London show as the project’s first preview.

“Honk” will arrive on the eve of the launch of the Stones’ 2019 No Filter tour, which is set to open at the Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, FL on April 20.

Currently recording tracks for their next studio album, Mick Jagger recently shared a preview of a song from the record, which would represent the Stones’ first new studio release of original material since 2005’s “A Bigger Bang” and follow-up to the Grammy Award-winning 2016 covers set “Blue & Lonesome.”

The Rolling Stones
Deluxe Edition
Release date: April 19


01. Start Me Up
02. Brown Sugar
03. Rocks Off
04. Miss You
05. Tumbling Dice
06. Just Your Fool
07. Wild Horses
08. Fool To Cry
09. Angie
10. Beast Of Burden
11. Hot Stuff
12. It’s Only Rock’n’Roll (But I Like It)
13. Rock And A Hard Place
14. Doom And Gloom
15. Love Is Strong
16. Mixed Emotions
17. Don’t Stop
18. Ride ‘Em On Down


01. Bitch
02. Harlem Shuffle
03. Hate To See You Go
04. Rough Justice
05. Happy
06. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)
07. One More Shot
08. Respectable
09. You Got Me Rocking
10. Rain Fall Down
11. Dancing With Mr D
12. Undercover (Of The Night)
13. Emotional Rescue
14. Waiting On A Friend
15. Saint Of Me
16. Out Of Control
17. Streets Of Love
18. Out Of Tears

CD3 - Live tracks

01. Get Off Of My Cloud
02. Dancing With Mr D
03. Beast Of Burden (with Ed Sheeran)
04. She’s A Rainbow
05. Wild Horses (with Florence Welch)
06. Let’s Spend The Night Together
07. Dead Flowers (with Brad Paisley)
08. Shine A Light
09. Under My Thumb
10. Bitch (with Dave Grohl)

See also:

Keith Richards streams unreleased blues track from expanded Talk Is Cheap reissue
The Rolling Stones add lone Canadian date to No Filter tour
VIDEO: Mick Jagger previews new music from The Rolling Stones
Keith Richards previews expanded Talk Is Cheap 30th anniversary reissue
Search Rolling Stones at hennemusic