Thursday, May 2, 2019

ZZ Top announce 50th anniversary compilation

ZZ Top will release a 50th anniversary compilation, “Goin’ 50”, on August 16.

The 3CD/5LP sets deliver 50 songs from the legendary Texas trio as they mark the milestone anniversary since their formation in Houston, TX in 1969.

The chronological package presents tunes that span the band 15-album catalog – from the 1971 debut, “ZZ Top’s First Album” to 2012’s “Futura.”

ZZ Top’s rise as a blues and boogie-based outfit through the 1970s gave way to massive mainstream success in the 1980s and into the 1990s thanks, in part, to hit singles fueled by iconic videos that scored heavy rotation across media outlets during the era.

1983’s “Eliminator” led the surge with multiple hits on its way to sales of more than 10 million in the States alone, while 1985’s “Afterburner” earned another 5 million in US sales.

“Goin’ 50” adds two bonus tracks – "Salt Lick" and "Miller's Farm" – a single and b-side respectively that were recorded in 1969 by the original incarnation of ZZ Top: guitarist Billy Gibbons, bassist/organist Lanier Greig and drummer Dan Mitchell.

The package closes with live versions of a pair of 1973 classics – "Waitin' For The Bus" and "Jesus Just Left Chicago" – as featured on the group’s most recent release, 2016’s “Live Greatest Hits from Around The World.”

In addition to the 3CD and 5LP editions, “Goin’ 50” will also be available as a single CD version with 18 tracks alongside digital and streaming versions of each.

ZZ Top will kick off their 50th Anniversary with a trio of "Texas Bash" dates later this month in Dallas, Houston, and Austin, with a full North American tour launching August 16 – the same day “Goin’ 50” hits stores.

With sales of more than 50 million albums worldwide, ZZ Top were inducted into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame in 2004.

ZZ Top
“Goin' 50”

Release date: August 16

3CD / 5LP Track Listing

Disc One

01. "La Grange"
02. "Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers"
03. "Tush"
04. "Salt Lick"
05. "Miller's Farm"
06. "(Somebody Else Been) Shaking Your Tree"
07. "Francine"
08. "Heard It On The X"
09. "It's Only Love"
10. "Arrested For Driving While Blind"
11. "Enjoy And Get It On"
12. "I Thank You"
13. "Cheap Sunglasses"
14. "I'm Bad, I'm Nationwide"
15. "Leila"
16. "Tube Snake Boogie"
17. "Pearl Necklace"

Disc Two

01. "Gimme All Your Lovin'"
02. "Got Me Under Pressure"
03. "Sharp Dressed Man"
04. "TV Dinners"
05. "Legs"
06. "Sleeping Bag"
07. "Can't Stop Rockin'"
08. "Stages"
09. "Rough Boy"
10. "Delirious"
11. "Woke Up With Wood"
12. "Velcro Fly"
13. "Doubleback"
14. "Concrete And Steel"
15. "My Head's In Mississippi"
16. "Give It Up"
17. "Decision Or Collision"

Disc Three

01."Viva Las Vegas"
02. "Gun Love"
03. "Pincushion"
04. "Breakaway"
05. "Girl In A T-Shirt"
06. "Fuzzbox Voodoo"
07. "She's Just Killing Me"
08. "What's Up With That"
09. "Bang Bang"
10. "Rhythmeen"
11. "Fearless Boogie"
12. "36-22-36"
13. "Piece"
14. "I Gotsta Get Paid"
15. "Waitin' For The Bus" (Live)
16. "Jesus Just Left Chicago" (Live)

See also:

ZZ Top announce 50th anniversary US tour
ZZ Top announce 50th anniversary Texas Bash concerts
Rock News Artist Of The Year No. 5: ZZ TOP
VIDEO: ZZ Top guitarist joins William Shatner for Christmas classic
Search ZZ Top at hennemusic