Wednesday, October 2, 2019

Jimi Hendrix live Band Of Gypsys box set announced

Jimi Hendrix will release a collection of four historic debut concerts with the Band Of Gypsys in a new box set entitled “Songs For Groovy Children: The Fillmore East Concerts.”

Due November 22 on CD and digital – with a vinyl release to follow on December 13 – the 5CD or 8LP package delivers over two dozen live tracks by Hendrix, bassist Billy Cox and drummer Buddy Miles that have either never before been released commercially or have been newly-pressed and newly-remixed for the 2019 set.

Blending their unique mix of rock, soul and funk, the band performed four concerts over the course of two evenings – December 31, 1969 and January 1, 1970 – to introduce the lineup to fans at the famed Manhattan venue.

True to his unpredictability, Hendrix opened his four-show stint with a masterful, eleven song set that did not feature a single song he had commercially released. The guitarist would sprinkle the remaining three shows with supercharged reworkings of favorites such as “Stone Free,” “Purple Haze” and “Fire” alongside newly-developed sonic fare as “Machine Gun.”

The original 1970 Band Of Gypsys album was edited and sequenced from songs performed during the two Fillmore sets on January 1, 1970. Subsequent collections mined more material from each of the performances with significant portions of live recordings from those nights sitting unreleased for almost half a century … until now.

Produced by Janie Hendrix, Eddie Kramer and John McDermott, “Songs For Groovy Children: The Fillmore East Concerts” is being previewed with a video trailer and audio of the previously-unreleased track, “Message To Love,” from the second New Year’s Eve performance on the collection.

Jimi Hendrix
“Songs For Groovy Children: The Fillmore East Concerts”

Release date: November 22

Disc One -- Dec. 31, 1969, First Set

01. "Power of Soul"
02. "Lover Man"
03. "Hear My Train A Comin’"
04. "Changes"
05. "Izabella"
06. "Machine Gun"
07. "Stop"
08. "Ezy Ryder"
09. "Bleeding Heart"
10. "Earth Blues"
11. "Burning Desire"

Disc Two -- Dec. 31, 1969, Second Set

01. "Auld Lang Syne"
02. "Who Knows"
03. "Fire"
04. "Ezy Ryder"
05. "Machine Gun"
06. "Stone Free"
07. "Changes"
08. "Message to Love"
09. "Stop"
10. "Foxey Lady"

Disc Three -- Jan. 1, 1970, First Set

01. "Who Knows"
02. "Machine Gun"
03. "Changes"
04. "Power of Soul"
05. "Stepping Stone"
06. "Foxey Lady"
07. "Stop"
08. "Earth Blues"
09. "Burning Desire"

Disc Four -- Jan. 1, 1970, Second Set

01. "Stone Free"
02. "Power of Soul"
03. "Changes"
04. "Message to Love"
05. "Machine Gun"
06. "Lover Man"
07. "Steal Away"
08. "Earth Blues"

Disc Five -- Jan. 1, 1970, Second Set

01. "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)"
02. "We Gotta Live Together"
03. "Wild Thing"
04. "Hey Joe"
05. "Purple Haze"

See also:

Jimi Hendrix doc Electric Church to screen in cinemas worldwide
Seattle post office renamed in honor of Jimi Hendrix
VIDEO: Jimi Hendrix producer previews Electric Ladyland 50th anniversary reissue
Jimi Hendrix: Electric Ladyland 50th anniversary box set announced
Search Jimi Hendrix at hennemusic