Sunday, February 23, 2020

Robby Krieger of The Doors previews first album in a decade

Guitarist Robby Krieger of The Doors is streaming “The Drift”, as the lead track from his first solo album in a decade.

Due April 24, “The Ritual Begins At Sundown” is an instrumental record which was recorded at Krieger’s own Horse Latitudes Studio in Los Angeles and features nine originals and one cover, the Frank Zappa song “Chunga’s Revenge.”

The set sees the rocker regroup with his longtime writing partner and co-producer Arthur Barrow, who worked with Zappa through the 1970s-80s.

“After The Doors I started becoming interested in Jazz and started hanging out with a guy called Sal Marquez,” says Krieger. “So, we put this band together and that was the first Robby Krieger band and we played at the Whiskey A-Go-Go with Don Preston, Zappa’s keyboard player.

“Arthur Barrow, who was a huge Zappa fan – this was before he worked with Frank – he decided that, after graduating from North Texas State music school that he was gonna come out to LA and try to get into Frank’s band, which was pretty brash of him,”
he laughs. “He started hanging out with Don and with Zappa, Don was in my band so we decided to put Arthur in charge of the mixing at the Whiskey for our shows, that’s when I first met him in the 70s.”

The project also features other Zappa alumni Jock Ellis (Trombone), Sal Marquez (Trumpet), Tommy Mars (Keys) and Chad Wackerman (Drums), as well as AeB Bryne (Flute), Vince Denham (Sax), Chuck Manning (Sax) and Joel Taylor (Drums).

Krieger’s seventh solo record marks his first since 2010’s “Singularity.”

Krieger and John Densmore of The Doors reunited for a charity concert in Los Angeles last month, where they were joined by Nirvana’s Krist Novoselic on bass and a number of other players at the first-ever “Homeward Bound” concert, a fundraising event for PATH (People Assisting the Homeless), a non-profit focused on affordable housing and services for the homeless population in California.

Robby Krieger
“The Ritual Begins At Sundown”
Release date: April 24

01. What Was That?
02. Slide Home
03. The Drift
04. Chunga's Revenge (Frank Zappa cover)
05. Hot Head
06. Yes, The River Knows
07. The Hitch
08. Dr Noir
09. Bianca's Dream
10. Screen Junkie

See also:

VIDEO: The Doors reunite for California homeless benefit concert
The Doors stream Taylor Hawkins performance from Ray Manzarek documentary
The Doors: Ray Manzarek documentary to screen in theaters
The Doors stream new mix of Wishful Sinful from The Soft Parade reissue
Search The Doors at hennemusic