Friday, June 12, 2020

Neil Young streams Homegrown track Vacancy

Neil Young is streaming “Vacancy” as the latest preview to the June 19 release of his shelved 1970s album, “Homegrown.”

Recorded at Young’s Broken Arrow Ranch Studio in January 1975, the track features Stan Szelest on Wurlitzer organ, Ben Keith on lap slide guitar, bassist Tim Drummond and Karl T. Himmel on drums.

“Vacancy” follows the lead tune, “Try”, as the second listen to the upcoming release, which also includes appearances by Levon Helm and Robbie Robertson of The Band, and Emmylou Harris.

The album delivers twelve songs, of which seven are previously unreleased – including “Try,” “Separate Ways,” “Mexico,” “Kansas,” We Don’t Smoke It No More,” “Vacancy” and “Florida” (a spoken word narration).

Also included are the first recordings of “Homegrown,” “White Line,” and “Star Of Bethlehem” – different versions of which would all later appear on other Young albums, while “Love Is A Rose” and “Little Wing” have been previously-released on the 1977 compilation, “Decade.”

“I apologize,” shared the rocker on a note to fans on his Neil Young Archives site. “This album ‘Homegrown’ should have been there for you a couple of years after ‘Harvest’. It’s the sad side of a love affair. The damage done. The heartache. I just couldn’t listen to it. I wanted to move on.

“So I kept it to myself, hidden away in the vault, on the shelf, in the back of my mind….but I should have shared it. It’s actually beautiful. That’s why I made it in the first place. Sometimes life hurts. You know what I mean. This is the one that got away.”

Neil Young

Release date: June 19

01 – Separate Ways
02 – Try
03 – Mexico
04 – Love Is A Rose
05 – Homegrown
06 – Florida
07 – Kansas
08 – We Don’t Smoke It No More
09 – White Line
10 – Vacancy
11 – Little Wing
12 – Star Of Bethlehem

See also:

Neil Young to launch official bootleg series
Neil Young plays Harvest classics in new Fireside Sessions stream
Neil Young previews lost 1970s album Homegrown
Neil Young streams new Fireside Sessions performance
Search Neil Young at hennemusic