Thursday, July 23, 2020

Fleetwood Mac document early years on new box set

Fleetwood Mac are documenting their early years on a new box set.

Due September 4, “Fleetwood Mac 1969-1974” is an 8CD package that includes remastered versions of all seven studio albums the band recorded between 1969 and 1974, several bonus tracks, and an unreleased 1974 concert recorded just a few months before Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks joined the band.

The set covers a five-year span that encompasses several different band lineups, from founding members Mick Fleetwood, Peter Green and Jeremy Spencer, to later additions like Danny Kirwan, Christine McVie, Dave Walker, Bob Welch and Bob Weston.

The box delivers the group’s third album, 1969’s “Then Play On”, “Kiln House” (1970), 1971’s “Future Games”, “Bare Trees” (1972), 1973’s “Penguin” and “Mystery To Me”, and 1974’s “Heroes Are Hard To Find” – all with bonus tracks, as well as “Live From the Record Plant 12-15-74”, recorded while the band was on tour and originally broadcast on a local San Francisco rock station.

Those records fueled Fleetwood Mac’s early popularity in the UK and propelled them into the Top Ten with singles like “Man Of The World,” “Oh Well – Pt. 1,” “The Green Manalishi (With The Two Prong Crown)” and the No. 1 hit, “Albatross.”

Fleetwood Mac are offering a condensed version of the box in a 4LP/7” edition entitled “Fleetwood Mac 1973-1974”, which includes the unreleased 1974 live record along with studio albums from the era: “Penguin” “Mystery To Me” and “Heroes Are Hard To Find.”

All of the albums are pressed on 140-gram vinyl and presented in replica sleeves made to look like the original pressings. The set also includes a 7” single with “For Your Love” (Mono Promo Edit) on one side, and the previously-unreleased “Good Things (Come To Those Who Wait)” on the flipside.

A limited edition, colored-vinyl edition will also be available exclusively from, with each release pressed on different colored vinyl.

Green, Fleetwood, Spencer and Bob Brunning formed Fleetwood Mac in London in 1967; a short time later, Brunning was replaced by John McVie and the band recorded and issued their self-titled debut album in early 1968, a follow-up just six months later, and another pair in 1969.

Fleetwood Mac celebrated their 50th anniversary in 2018 with a wide-ranging compilation; that same year, the group fired longtime guitarist Buckingham and brought in Mike Campbell of Tom Petty’s band and Neil Finn of Crowded House/Split Enz fame in his place for an extensive world tour that wrapped up last November.

Fleetwood Mac
“Fleetwood Mac 1969-1974”

Release date: September 4

Then Play On (1969)
01. “Coming Your Way”
02. “Closing My Eyes”
03. “Show-Biz Blues”
04. “My Dream”
05. “Underway”
06. “Oh Well”
07. “Although the Sun Is Shining”
08. “Rattlesnake Shake”
09. “Searching for Madge”
10. “Fighting for Madge”
11. “When You Say”
12. “Like Crying”
13. “Before the Beginning”

Bonus Tracks
14. “Oh Well Pts I & II”
15. “The Green Manalishi (With The Two Prong Crown)”
16. “World In Harmony”

Kiln House (1970)

01. “This Is the Rock”
02. “Station Man”
03. “Blood on the Floor”
04. “Hi Ho Silver”
05. “Jewel Eyed Judy”
06. “Buddy’s Song”
07. “Earl Gray”
08. “One Together”
09. “Tell Me All the Things You Do”
10. “Mission Bell”

Bonus Tracks
11. “Dragonfly”
12. “Purple Dancer”
13. “Jewel Eyed Judy” (Single Version)
14. “Station Man” (Single Version)

Future Games (1971)
01. “Woman of 1,000 Years”
02. “Morning Rain”
03. “What a Shame”
04. “Future Games”
05. “Sands of Time”
06. “Sometimes”
07. “Lay It All Down”
08. “Show Me a Smile”

Bonus Tracks
09. “Sands of Time” (Single Version)
10. “Sometimes” (Alt. Version)
11. “Lay It All Down” (Alt. Version)
12. “Stone
13. “Show Me a Smile” (Alt. Version)
14. “What a Shame” (Unedited)

Bare Trees (1972)
01. “Child of Mine”
02. “The Ghost”
03. “Homeward Bound”
04. “Sunny Side of Heaven”
05. “Bare Trees”
06. “Sentimental Lady”
07. “Danny’s Chant”
08. “Spare Me a Little of Your Love”
09. “Dust”
10. “Thoughts on a Grey Day”

Bonus Tracks
11. “Trinity”
12. “Sentimental Lady” (Single Version)

Penguin (1973)
01. “Remember Me”
02. “Bright Fire”
03. “Dissatisfied”
04. “(I’m a) Road Runner”
05. “The Derelict”
06. “Revelation”
07. “Did You Ever Love Me”
08. “Night Watch”
09. “Caught in the Rain”

Mystery To Me (1973)
01. “Emerald Eyes”
02. “Believe Me”
03. “Just Crazy Love”
04. “Hypnotized”
05. “Forever”
06. “Keep on Going”
07. “The City”
08. “Miles Away”
09. “Somebody”
10. “The Way I Feel”
11. “For Your Love”
12. “Why”

Bonus Tracks
13. “For Your Love” (Mono Promo Edit)
14. “Good Things (Come to Those Who Wait)”

Heroes Are Hard To Find (1974)
01. “Heroes Are Hard to Find”
02. “Coming Home”
03. “Angel”
04. “Bermuda Triangle”
05. “Come a Little Bit Closer”
06. “She’s Changing Me”
07. “Bad Loser”
08. “Silver Heels”
09. “Prove Your Love”
10. “Born Enchanter”
11. “Safe Harbour”

Bonus Track
12. “Heroes Are Hard to Find” (Single Version)

Live From The Record Plant 12-15-74
01. “Green Manalishi (With the Two Prong Crown)”
02. “Angel”
03. “Spare Me a Little of Your Love”
04. “Sentimental Lady”
05. “Future Games”
06. “Bermuda Triangle”
07. “Why”
08. “Believe Me”
09. “Black Magic Woman/Oh Well”
10. “Rattlesnake Shake”
11. “Hypnotized”

See also:

Sammy Hagar joins members of The Doobie Brothers and Fleetwood Mac for Traffic classic
Lindsey Buckingham postpones spring US tour
Lindsey Buckingham announces spring US tour
VIDEO: Stevie Nicks joins Keith Urban for 1981 classic in Nashville
Search Stevie Nicks at hennemusic
Search Fleetwood Mac at hennemusic