Friday, July 31, 2020

Robert Plant streams unreleased track from Digging Deep collection

Robert Plant is streaming “Charlie Patton Highway (Turn it Up, Pt. 1)”, as the first preview to his forthcoming anthology, “Digging Deep: Subterranea.”

“I spent time in the hill country of north Mississippi around Como, dropping back to Clarksdale, the incredible center of black music talent over the years,” says Plant. “I weaved my car through the Delta back roads, listening to the remarkable protestations of Mississippi AM radio. I was looking at my world and my times from this unfamiliar place and found myself exposed to a nightmare world of half-truths.”

The tune – which will also appear on the upcoming Band Of Joy Volume 2 record – is one of three previously unreleased tracks in the collection, alongside "Nothing Takes The Place Of You" and a cover of rockabilly artist Charlie Feathers’ 1957 tune, "Too Much Alike”, featuring Patty Griffin.

Due October 2, “Digging Deep: Subterranea” is a limited edition 2CD set that delivers 30 songs from the Led Zeppelin singer’s solo career.

Robert Plant
“Digging Deep: Subterranea”

Release date: October 2

01. Rainbow
02. Hurting Kind
03. Shine It All Around
04. Ship Of Fools
05. Nothing Takes The Place Of You *
06. Darkness, Darkness
07. Heaven Knows
08. In The Mood
09. Charlie Patton Highway (Turn It Up – Part 1) *
10. New World
11. Like I’ve Never Been Gone
12. I Believe
13. Dance With You Tonight
14. Satan Your Kingdom Must Come Down
15. Great Spirit (Acoustic)

01. Angel Dance
02. Takamba
03. Anniversary
04. Wreckless Love
05. White Clean & Neat
06. Silver Rider
07. Fat Lip
08. 29 Palms
09. Last Time I Saw Her
10. Embrace Another Fall
11. Too Much Alike (feat. Patty Griffin) *
12. Big Log
13. Falling In Love Again
14. Memory Song (Hello Hello)
15. Promised Land

*previously unreleased

See also:

U2 members perform acoustic version of Stairway To Heaven
Robert Plant announces Digging Deep anthology
Jimmy Page comments on likelihood of future Led Zeppelin live shows
The Rolling Stones stream unreleased Goats Head Soup track featuring Jimmy Page
Search Led Zeppelin at hennemusic