Friday, August 28, 2020

Motorhead announce On Parole expanded reissue

Motorhead will release an expanded reissue of 1979’s “On Parole” as part of the UK’s National Album Day on October 9.

Available in single CD and double LP editions and newly-remastered from the original analog tapes, the 2020 package includes six bonus tracks – including "Motörhead", "City Kids", "Leaving Here" and the title song, a demo version of "Fools", and the set’s first preview: a previously-unreleased original version of "Iron Horse / Born To Lose."

Motorhead recorded their first album, “On Parole”, in 1976 with the group’s original lineup of Lemmy, guitarist Larry Wallis and drummer Lucas Fox.

The band’s record label failed to see any commercial potential in the project and held it back until the group was more established in 1979, instead releasing their self-titled debut in 1977.

Many of the songs originally recorded for "On Parole" would become mainstays on record and live by the "classic" Motorhead trio of Lemmy, "Fast" Eddie Clarke and Phil "Philthy Animal" Taylor and beyond, with the song "Motörhead" making the UK Top Ten in 1981.

The 2020 reissue will feature the rare Canadian version of the cover artwork and include new liner notes written by Fox alongside rarely-seen photographs and archive content.

Lemmy died in 2015 at the age of 70 from prostate cancer, a cardiac arrhythmia, and congestive heart failure, while Wallis passed away last fall at 70.

“On Parole” expanded reissue

Release date: October 9

01. Motörhead (2020 Remaster)
02. On Parole (2020 Remaster)
03. Vibrator (2020 Remaster)
04. Iron Horse / Born To Lose (2020 Remaster)
05. City Kids (2020 Remaster)
06. Fools (2020 Remaster)
07. The Watcher (2020 Remaster)
08. Leaving Here (2020 Remaster)
09. Lost Johnny (2020 Remaster)

Bonus Tracks

10. On Parole (Original Take)
11. City Kids (Original Take)
12. Iron Horse / Born To Lose (Original Take)
13. Motörhead (Original Take)
14. Leaving Here (Original Take)
15. Fools (Demo Version)

Lucas Fox features on drums for all tracks 1-15 / Phil Taylor drums added for tracks 1-8

See also:

Motorhead unbox Ace Of Spades 40th anniversary vinyl box set
Motorhead detail Ace Of Spades 40th anniversary vinyl box set
Scorpions drummer details COVID-19 battle
Motorhead: Lemmy biopic in the works
Search Motorhead at hennemusic