Wednesday, September 30, 2020

AC/DC reveal new band lineup

AC/DC have revealed their new band lineup with the release of a new image via social media.

Founder and lead guitarist Angus Young is featured in a publicity photo alongside singer Brian Johnson, bassist Cliff Williams, drummer Phil Rudd and rhythm guitarist Stevie Young alongside the phrase “PWRUP” – which could be the title of their anticipated studio album, the lead single from the project, or something else.

The image signals the official return of three longtime members: Johnston, who left the “Rock Or Bust” tour in the spring of 2016 after being advised by doctors to that he was risking total hearing loss; Williams, who announced his retirement at the completion of the tour; and Rudd, who faced a series of legal issues in New Zealand that prevented him from participating in the last tour.

Most of the members of the 2020 lineup were spotted at a Vancouver recording studio in the summer of 2018 where it was believed that they had been working on a new record with engineer Mike Fraser, who later confirmed the studio activity without providing further details.

AC/DC have been active on social media lately, which has caused speculation about their possible return with new music; the project will reportedly include material recorded by co-founder Malcolm Young, who passed away in November of 2017.
See also:

AC/DC share new images on social media
AC/DC share inspiration behind Rock And Roll Ain't Noise Pollution
AC/DC revisit Back In Black classic Shoot To Thrill
New AC/DC album reportedly delayed due to pandemic
Search AC/DC at hennemusic