Wednesday, October 7, 2020

AC/DC detail new album Power Up

AC/DC will release their new album, “Power Up”, on November 13.

Produced by Brendan O’Brien, the band’s seventeenth album – and first since 2104’s “Rock Or Bust” – sees the return of Angus Young alongside a lineup that includes singer Brian Johnson, bassist Cliff Williams, drummer Phil Rudd and rhythm guitarist Stevie Young.

“This record is pretty much a dedication to Malcolm, my brother,” Angus tells Rolling Stone of the rocker, who passed away in 2017 after retiring in 2014 due to dementia. “It’s a tribute for him like ‘Back In Black’ was a tribute to Bon Scott.”

Some of the material dates back to ideas from writing sessions by the Young brothers that took place from the period around 2008’s “Back Ice.”

“There was a lot of great song ideas from that time,” explains Angus. “At that time he said to me, ‘We’ll leave these songs for now. If we keep going, we’ll be overboard. We’ll get them on the next one.’ That always stuck with me. When I went through and listened to them, I said, ‘If I do anything in my life, I have to get these tracks down and get these tracks out.'

“It’s been a long, long road,”
he adds, “but it’s good that everyone came on board and we get to pump out a bit of new rock & roll for the world. At this time, with the pandemic, hopefully it gives people a few hours of toe-tapping enjoyment.”

Recorded in Vancouver in 2018, “Power Up” features 12 new songs, including the newly-released lead single, “Shot In The Dark.”

“Power Up”

Release date: November 13

01. “Realize”
02. “Rejection”
03. “Shot In The Dark”
04. “Through The Mists Of Time”
05. “Kick You When You’re Down”
06. “Witch’s Spell”
07. “Demon Fire”
08. “Wild Reputation”
09. “No Man’s Land”
10. “Systems Down”
11. “Money Shot”
12. “Code Red”

See also:

AC/DC stream new single Shot In The Dark
AC/DC preview new single Shot In The Dark
New AC/DC single featured in Dodge commercial
AC/DC preview new single Shot In The Dark
Search AC/DC at hennemusic