Thursday, October 1, 2020

The Doors revisit unreleased version of Roadhouse Blues

The Doors are revisiting an unreleased version of their 1970 classic, “Roadhouse Blues”, as the latest preview to the October 9 release of an expanded, deluxe 50th anniversary edition of “Morrison Hotel.”

The streaming audio takes fans directly in the studio as Jim Morrison sets the scene for his bandmates before they run through the song.

“Now the subject of this song is something that all of you have seen at one time or another, it’s an old roadhouse,” explains Morrison. “We’re down in the South or in the Midwest or maybe on the way to Bakersfield, and we’re driving in a ’57 Chevy to an old roadhouse. Can you dig it? It’s about 1:30 and we’re not driving too fast, but we’re not driving too slow either. We’ve got a six-pack of beer in the car, and a few joints, and we’re just listening to the radio and driving to the roadhouse through nature. Dig it?”

The first two takes of the track are featured alongside several others on the newly-expanded second disc of “Morrison Hotel”, which presents unreleased outtakes alongside a newly-remastered version of the album in the 2CD/1LP package.

"Actually, the real roadhouse was this place that was right down the street from our studio,” says Robbie Krieger. “It was kind of across the street from the Troubadour and a little bit east. It was a bar — I forget what it was called — but it was where Jim spent quite a bit of time with his drinking buddies. Even though it was in the city, this place looked like it could have been out in the desert. To me, that was what he was singing about.”

The Doors
“Morrison Hotel” 50th anniversary deluxe edition

Release date: October 9

The Original Album

01. “Roadhouse Blues”
02. “Waiting for the Sun”
03. “You Make Me Real”
04. “Peace Frog”
05. “Blue Sunday”
06. “Ship of Fools”
07. “Land Ho!”
08. “The Spy”
09. “Queen of the Highway”
10. “Indian Summer”
11. “Maggie M’Gill”

Disc Two: Mysterious Union

Black Dressed In Leather (Queen of the Highway Sessions)
First Session (11/15/68)
01. “Queen of the Highway” (Take 1, She Was a Princess) *
02. “Queen of the Highway” (Various Takes) *
03. “Queen of the Highway” (Take 44, He Was A Monster) *
Second Session (1/16/69)
04. “Queen of the Highway” (Take 12, No One Could Save Her) *
05. “Queen of the Highway” (Take 14, Save the Blind Tiger) *
Third Session (Date Unknown)
06. “Queen of the Highway” (Take 1, American Boy – American Girl) *
07. “Queen of the Highway” (Takes 5, 6 & 9, Dancing Through The Midnight Whirlpool) *
08. “Queen of the Highway” (Take 14, Start It All Over) *
09. “I Will Never Be Untrue” *
10. “Queen of the Highway” (Take Unknown) *
Money Beats Soul (Roadhouse Blues Sessions)
First Session
11. “Roadhouse Blues” (Take 14, Keep Your Eyes On The Road) *
12. “Money (That’s What I Want)” *
13. “Rock Me Baby” *
Second Session
14. “Roadhouse Blues” (Takes 6 & 7, Your Hands Upon The Wheel) *
15. “Roadhouse Blues” (Take 8, We’re Goin’ to the Roadhouse) *
Third Session
16. “Roadhouse Blues” (Takes 1 & 2, We’re Gonna Have a Real Good Time) *
17. “Roadhouse Blues” (Takes 5, 6 & 14, Let It Roll Baby Roll) *
Dawn’s Highway (Peace Frog/Blue Sunday Session)
18. “Peace Frog/Blue Sunday” (Take 4) *
19. “Peace Frog” (Take 12) *

* previously unreleased

See also:

The Doors stream Queen Of The Highway from Morrison Hotel reissue
The Doors announce expanded 50th anniversary edition of Morrison Hotel
Robby Krieger of The Doors previews first album in a decade
VIDEO: The Doors reunite for California homeless benefit concert
Search The Doors at hennemusic