Friday, January 8, 2021

The Black Crowes preview expanded Shake Your Money Maker reissues

The Black Crowes are streaming the previously-unreleased track, “Charming Mess”, as a preview to a series of expanded 30th anniversary editions of their 1990 debut, “Shake Your Money Maker.”

The song, which was originally slated to be the group’s first release, was ultimately left off of the album entirely and replaced with “Jealous Again”, one of four singles that introduced the band to the rock and roll mainstream.

Produced by George Drakoulias, the project went on to reach No. 4 on the US Billboard 200 and selling more than 5 million copies in the region thanks to extensive touring and radio hits like “Twice As Hard,” “She Talks To Angels,” and a cover of fellow Georgian Otis Redding’s “Hard To Handle.”

Due February 26, “Shake Your Money Maker” has been expanded into multiple packages, including 4LP and 3CD Super Deluxe versions that include a remastered version of the original album; three never-before-heard studio recordings; 2 unreleased demos from the band’s early incarnation as Mr. Crowe’s Garden; B-sides and an unreleased 1990 concert recording in their hometown of Atlanta, GA.

A 2CD Deluxe version has the remastered album along with the unreleased studio songs, demos, and b-sides; there are also standard 1CD and 1LP versions with the remastered record, as well as streaming and digital options.

Brothers Chris and Rich Robinson postponed a 2020 reunion tour due to the pandemic; the trek – which will see The Black Crowes perform their 1990 debut in its entirety – has been rescheduled to start in Tampa, FL on June 25.

The Black Crowes
“Shake Your Money Maker” 30th anniversary reissue

Release date: February 26

4LP Super Deluxe Edition

LP 1: Shake Your Money Maker (2020 Remaster)

Side One:
01. Twice As Hard
02. Jealous Again
03. Sister Luck
04. Could I've Been So Blind
05. Seeing Things

Side Two:

01. Hard To Handle
02. Thick N' Thin
03. She Talks To Angels
04. Struttin' Blues
05. Stare It Cold
06. Mercy, Sweet Moan

LP 2: More Money Maker: Unreleased Songs and B-Sides

Side One:

01. Charming Mess
02. 30 Days In The Hole
03. Don't Wake Me
04. Jealous Guy
05. Waitin' Guilty

Side Two:

01. Hard To Handle (With Horns Remix)
02. Jealous Again (Acoustic Version)
03. She Talks To Angels (Acoustic Version)
04. She Talks To Angels (Mr. Crowe's Garden Demo)
05. Front Porch Sermon (Mr. Crowe’s Garden Demo)

LP3 and 4 The Homecoming Concert: Atlanta, GA December 1990

Side One:

01. Introduction
02. Thick N' Thin
03. You're Wrong
04. Twice As Hard
05. Could I've Been So Blind
06. Seeing Things For The First Time

Side Two:

01. She Talks To Angels
02. Sister Luck
03. Hard To Handle
04. Shake 'Em On Down/Get Back

Side Three:

01. Struttin' Blues
02. Words You Throw Away

Side Four:

01. Stare It Cold
02. Jealous Again

See also:

The Black Crowes postpone 2020 reunion tour
The Black Crowes stream live acoustic footage
VIDEO: The Black Crowes perform NPR Tiny Desk Concert
VIDEO: The Black Crowes launch acoustic tour in London
Search The Black Crowes at hennemusic