Thursday, April 29, 2021

Noel Gallagher streams new single from solo greatest hits package

Noel Gallagher is streaming a lyric video for a new single, “We’re On Our Way Now”, as the first preview to the June 11 release of his first solo greatest hits package, “Back The Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021).”

The compilation – which captures the first decade of his work with The High Flying Birds – mixes tracks from their three UK No. 1 albums (“Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds”, “Chasing Yesterday” and “Who Built The Moon?”) and three EPs (“Black Star Dancing”, “This Is The Place” and “Blue Moon Rising”).

In addition to the newly-issued single, the set also includes a second new track, “Flying On The Ground.”

“Back The Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021)” will be available in multiple formats, including a 2-CD set, a deluxe 3-CD package and a vinyl boxset; a limited edition, numbered, hand-pressed, colored, double LP with exclusive art print is being sold for Record Store Day on June 12.

Limited edition deluxe formats will include a bonus disc of previously-unreleased acoustic versions, remixes, instrumentals and an unheard demo.

“The title just came to me one afternoon, at the kitchen table,” says Gallagher. ”It’s a saying isn’t it: ‘back the way we came’. I actually thought it was a great title. Which is why it’s got Vol 1…because if there’s another one, I’m not coming up with another title!”

Gallagher’s High Flying Birds’ most recent full-length studio record is 2017’s “Who Built The Moon?”

Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds
“Back The Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021)”

Release date: June 11

Disc 1

01. Everybody’s On The Run
02. The Death Of You And Me
03. AKA … What A Life!
04. If I Had A Gun
05. In The Heat Of The Moment
06. Riverman
07. Lock All The Doors
08. The Dying Of The Light
09. Ballad Of The Mighty I
10. We’re On Our Way Now **

Disc 2

01. Black Star Dancing
02. Holy Mountain (Remastered)
03. A Dream Is All I Need To Get By
04. This Is The Place
05. It’s A Beautiful World
06. Blue Moon Rising
07. Dead In The Water (Live At RTÉ 2FM Studios, Dublin)
08. Flying On The Ground **

Bonus Disc

01. It’s A Beautiful World (Instrumental)
02. If I Had A Gun (Acoustic Version)
03. Black Star Dancing (Skeleton Key Remix)
04. Black Star Dancing (12” Mix Instrumental)
05. The Man Who Built The Moon (Acoustic Version)
06. International Magic (Demo)
07. Blue Moon Rising (Sons Of The Desert Remix)
08. The Dying Of The Light (Acoustic Version)
09. This Is The Place (Skeleton Key Remix)
10. This Is The Place (Instrumental)
11. Black Star Dancing (The Reflex Revision)
12. Be Careful What You Wish For (Instrumental)

** new song

See also:

Noel Gallagher shares demo of new song
Liam Gallagher streams live version of All You’re Dreaming Of
Liam Gallagher streams video for new single All You’re Dreaming Of
Liam Gallagher performs new single on The Tonight Show
Search Oasis at hennemusic