Wednesday, May 12, 2021

Mastodon stream new single from Dark Nights Death Metal Soundtrack

Mastodon are streaming their new single, “Forged By Neron”, form the newly-announced “Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack.”

“We are super excited and honored to be part of the Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack!,” says drummer Brann Dailor. “We’ve all been fans of DC Comics and the Batman universe since we were kids, so it really means a lot for us to be able to add something to that world.”

Due for release digitally on June 18 and physically on July 16, the project supports the DC Dark Nights: Death Metal series where a hellish Earth is twisted beyond recognition, wherein the Justice League is at the mercy of the Dark Multiverse and a diabolical Batman Who Laughs.

The album sees contributions form a variety of artists, including Rise Against, Manchester Orchestra, Chelsea Wolfe, Idles, and Soccer Mommy, among others.

Additionally, DC and Loma Vista Recordings announced Special Edition Soundtrack Variants of Dark Nights: Death Metal issues 1-3, featuring Rise Against, Denzel Curry, and Grey Daze (the late Chester Bennington’s pre-Linkin Park band) on custom comic covers, and released alongside each artists’ respective flexi singles.

“This soundtrack and motion-comic series was made by fans of comics, for fans of comics and music,” raves Executive Producer Tyler Bates. “‘Dark Nights: Death Metal’ is next-level storytelling by two incredibly talented artists in Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo. The visual aspect of this comic is entirely compelling and resonates throughout each song on the soundtrack."

Mastodon have been working on the follow-up to 2017's "Emperor Of Sand", which debuted at No. 7 on the US Billboard 200 upon its release.

Various Artists
“Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack”

Release date: June 18

01. MASTODON - "Forged By Neron"
02. CHELSEA WOLFE - "Diana"
03. HEALTH, Tyler Bates - "ANTI-LIFE (ft. Chino Moreno)"
04. MARIA BRINK, TYLER BATES - "Meet Me In Fire (ft. Andy Biersack)"
05. GREY DAZE - "Anything, Anything"
06. RISE AGAINST - "Broken Dreams, Inc."
09. CARACH ANGREN - "Skull With A Forked Tongue"
10. STARCRAWLER - "Good Time Girl"
11. GUNSHIP, TYLER BATES - "Berserker (ft. Dave Lombardo)"
12. GREG PUCIATO, TYLER BATES, GIL SHARONE - "Now You've Really Done It"
13. SHOW ME THE BODY - "Stone Cold Earth"
14. IDLES - "Sodium"
15. SOCCER MOMMY - "Kissing In The Rain"

See also:

Mastodon stream Adult Swim Festival performance
Soundgarden classic Rusty Cage featured in all-star quarantine cover
Mastodon release Fallen Torches video
Mastodon stream new song from Medium Rarities collection
Search Mastodon at hennemusic