Wednesday, November 17, 2021

Stream preview of Deep Purple covers album Turning To Crime

Deep Purple will release their new covers album, “Turning To Crime”, on November 26.

Ahead of its arrival, Dutch retailer Plato are streaming preview clips of all of the set’s 12 tracks, which was produced by Bob Ezrin and features songs originally done by Cream, The Yardbirds, Bob Dylan and more.

Hear the audio samples at Plato’s website here.

Deep Purple have already shared full versions of their takes on the 1966 Arthur Lee and Love track, “7 and 7 Is”, and the 1969 Fleetwood Mac classic, “Oh Well”, in advance of the project’s release.

“Turning To Crime” came about as a result of the covid-pandemic, as the band were forced to cancel all planned activities after the release of 2020’s “Whoosh!”; spending their time in isolation without being able to play together in person, an idea came up the group had actually been playing with for years: making a record packed with songs written and originally performed by other artists.

Deep Purple
“Turning To Crime”

Release date: November 26

01. 7 And 7 Is (orig by Love)
02. Rockin’ Pneumonia And The Boogie Woogie Flu (orig by Huey ‘Piano’ Smith)
03. Oh Well (orig by Fleetwood Mac)
04. Jenny Take A Ride! (orig by Mitch Ryder And The Detroit Wheels)
05. Watching The River Flow (orig by Bob Dylan)
06. Let The Good Times Roll (orig by Ray Charles and Quincy Jones)
07. Dixie Chicken (orig by Little Feat)
08. Shapes Of Things (orig by The Yardbirds)
09. The Battle Of New Orleans (orig by Lonnie Donegan/Johnny Horton)
10. Lucifer (orig by Bob Seger System)
11. White Room (orig by Cream)
12. Caught In The Act [Medley: Going Down/Green Onions/Hot ‘Lanta/Dazed and Confused/Gimme Some Lovin’]

See also:

Deep Purple stream cover of Fleetwood Mac classic
Deep Purple release 7 And 7 Is video
Deep Purple announce covers album Turning To Crime
Deep Purple tease new music update
Search Deep Purple at hennemusic
Search Whitesnake at hennemusic
Search Rainbow at hennemusic