Tuesday, April 5, 2022

Sex Pistols announce new compilation The Original Recordings

The Sex Pistols will release a new compilation next month in sync with the Hulu premiere of the limited-edition FX series, “Pistol.”

Due May 27, “Sex Pistols: The Original Recordings” delivers 20 of the band’s songs from their original headline-making era: 1976 to 1978.

The package includes essential tracks from their lone studio album, 1977’s “Never Mind The Bollocks…Here’s The Sex Pistols”, and features key singles “Anarchy In The UK,” “God Save The Queen,” “Pretty Vacant” and “Holidays In The Sun,” further originals and covers from “The Great Rock & Roll Swindle” soundtrack album, and some essential B- sides in “I Wanna Be Me” (the flipside of “Anarchy…”), “Satellite” (the b-side of “Holidays In The Sun”) and “Did You No Wrong” (from “God Save The Queen”).

The Sex Pistols’ influence and impact is legendary, particularly in their native UK, where their 1977 single, “God Save the Queen”, was banned by the BBC and reached Number 1 on the UK's NME chart, but appeared at Number 2 on the Official UK Singles chart, leading to accusations that the song was purposely kept off the top spot. For the only time in chart history, the track was listed as a blank, to avoid offence to the establishment.

The group would disband in 1978 after an ill-conceived US tour and just three months after the release of “Never Mind…” and, eventually reunite for tours and performances in the decades that followed.

“Sex Pistols: The Original Recordings” will be available in multiple formats, including double vinyl, digital, CD and limited edition double transparent green vinyl and collectors’ cassettes.

The 2022 package will arrive just days before the May 31 Hulu premiere of the F/X series “Pistol”; directed by Danny Boyle, the biopic is based on a 2017 memoir by guitarist Steve Jones entitled “Lonely Boy: Tales from a Sex Pistol.”

The project stars Toby Wallace as Jones, Anson Boon as Johnny Rotten, Louis Partridge as Sid Vicious, Jacob Slater as Paul Cook, and Christian Lees as Glen Matlock, with Thomas Brodie-Sangster (The Queen’s Gambit) portraying manager Malcolm McLaren and Talulah Riley (Westworld) playing punk design icon Vivienne Westwood.

Sex Pistols
“Sex Pistols: The Original Recordings”

Release date: May 27

01. Pretty Vacant
02. God Save The Queen
03. Bodies
04. No Feelings
05. I Wanna Be Me
06. Anarchy In The UK
07. Submission
08. No Fun
09. (I'm Not Your) Stepping Stone
10. Holidays In The Sun
11. New York
12. Problems
13. Lonely Boy
14. Silly Thing
15. Something Else
16. C'Mon Everybody
17. Satellite
18. Did You No Wrong
19. Substitute
20. My Way

See also:

Sex Pistols biopic series Pistol to premiere on Hulu
Johnny Rotten comments on legal battle over Sex Pistols song rights
Sex Pistols members win legal battle against Johnny Rotten over song rights
Sex Pistols members battle over song rights for TV biopic
Search The Sex Pistols at hennemusic