Monday, January 30, 2023

The Who announce Live At Wembley album

The Who will release “The Who With Orchestra Live At Wembley” on March 31.

The project captures the band's July 6, 2019 show at the famed London stadium, which marked their first headline performance there in 40 years.

The event was the only UK date on The Who’s “Moving On” Tour and featured the band acompanied by an over 50-piece orchestra performing classic tracks from “Quadrophenia”, “Tommy”, “Who's Next”, “Who Are You” and more, as well as tracks from their 2019 album, simply titled “Who” - their first studio release in 13 years.

Performing with The Who and an orchestra had been a long-held ambition for singer Roger Daltrey.

"Just because it is The Who with an orchestra, in no way does it compromise the way Pete and I deliver our music,” says the rocker. “It is full throttle Who with horns and bells on."

“Roger christened this tour Moving On!,”
adds Townshend. “I love it. It is what both of us want to do. Move on, with new music, classic Who music, all performed in new and exciting ways. Taking risks, nothing to lose."

“The Who With Orchestra Live At Wembley” will be available in multiple formats, including as a limited edition yellow, orange and red 3LP set, triple black vinyl, and a 2CD / Blu-Ray set which features the audio remixed in Dolby Atmos; in addition, all formats feature a booklet with unseen photos from the show.

Daltrey will play a few solo shows in the US next month before regrouping with the band to resume “The Who Hits Back!” series in Spain in June.

You can pre-order the new live album here and pick up “The Who Hits 50” package here.

The Who
“The Who With Orchestra Live At Wembley”

Release date: March 31

01 – Who Are You
02 – Eminence Front
03 – Imagine A Man
04 – Pinball Wizard
05 – Hero Ground Zero
06 – Join Together
07 – Substitute (No Orchestra)
08 – The Seeker (No Orchestra)
09 – Won't Get Fooled Again (Acoustic)
10 – Behind Blue Eyes (Acoustic)
11 – Ball And Chain
12 – The Real Me
13 – I'm One
14 – The Punk And The Godfather
15 – 5:15
16 – Drowned (No Orchestra)
17 – The Rock
18 – Love Reign O'er Me
19 – Baba O'Riley
20 – Tea & Theatre (Acoustic)

See also:

The Who share Royal Albert Hall performance on The Late Show
The Who to perform on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert
The Who to perform acoustic at Teenage Cancer Trust benefit concert
The Who announce North American tour
Search The Who at hennemusic