Friday, April 28, 2023

Triumph announce US Festival 40th anniversary vinyl edition

Triumph will release a 40th anniversary vinyl edition of their performance at the 1983 US Festival.

On May 29, 1983, Triumph joined the top metal acts (Van Halen, the Scorpions, Triumph, Ozzy Osbourne, Judas Priest, Mötley Crüe, and Quiet Riot) to perform on “Heavy Metal Sunday” at the mammoth US Festival.

On the road in support of their sixth album, “Never Surrender”, the Canadian rockers delivered an 8-song mix of tracks from their career, including “Rock And Roll Machine”, “Lay It On The Line”, Allied Forces” and “Magic Power.”

“Playing on the ‘Heavy Metal Sunday’ was just amazing for us,” recalls bassist Mike Levine. “It was really neat playing without our big production. We killed it. The band was hotter than a pistol. That day will always be locked in my memory – flying in on the chopper and looking at the endless amount of people and going, ‘What have we got ourselves into here?!’”

And to celebrate the 40th anniversary of this legendary concert, Triumph will be issuing a limited edition double-LP “Live at the US Festival” package.

The set will only be available via the official Triumph merch store - – and specifics about the set include:

• Double-LP, gatefold sleeve including never before seen photos
• Etching of the iconic Never Surrender thunderbird logo on the 4th side
• Remastered for vinyl at the legendary Metalworks Studios
• Limited to 750 copies, comes in either black, red, or blue vinyl
• Fans who buy from the official Triumph merch store will receive a US Festival special podcast featuring new interviews with Rik Emmett, Gil Moore, Mike Levine, Mike Primeau, Harry Witz, John Roberts, Wayne Webster and more.

To celebrate the 40th Anniversary of their US Festival performance and the new release on Limited Edition Vinyl, Triumph will host a special viewing of the concert on the official Triumph YouTube Channel on Thursday, May 25th (9:00 P.M Eastern and 6:00 P.M Pacific Time).

Fans will be able to join a group chat while the video is streamed and watch it together. Also, ALL three band members, Mike, Rik and Gil, will join the chat, say hi to the fans and answer a few questions.

Triumph previously released a DVD of the US Festival performance in 2003.

In addition to ordering the 40th anniversary vinyl edition of Triumph’s US Festival performance, you can get the 2003 DVD release here.

“Live At The US Festival”

40th anniversary vinyl edition

Side 1

01. Allied Forces
02. Lay It On The Line
03. Never Surrender

Side 2:

04. Magic Power
05. A World Of Fantasy
06. Rock And Roll Machine

Side 3:

07. When The Lights Go Down
08. Fight The Good Fight

Side 4:

Etched with Triumph's 'Never Surrender' Thunderbird logo

See also:

Triumph launch vinyl reissue series with Allied Forces
Triumph documentary Rock & Roll Machine to premiere on Triumph share archives with launch of the Triumph Vault
Triumph documentary to see US premiere in Philadelphia this week
Search Triumph at hennemusic