Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Dream Theater issue first single from upcoming album

This weekend, Dream Theater headline the closing night of the High Voltage Festival in London’s Victoria Park.

A full summer schedule of festival gigs continues as DT fans welcome new drummer Mike Mangini into the fold; he played his first DT gig in Rome earlier this month.

Dream Theater – and their fans - are anxiously waiting the September 12 release of the band’s 11th studio album, “A Dramatic Turn of Events.”

“I really can't wait for the album to be released,” says guitarist John Petrucci. “I'm incredibly proud of the way it turned out - the direction, the performances, the mix etc. It's a very unique feeling to work on something with your bandmates in such an intimate setting such as the recording studio, and then to ultimately share it with everyone. I think the sound and the direction of this album is very indicative of the band's current musical intention and will set the stage for all things Dream Theater over the upcoming years.”

In the meantime, “On The Backs Of Angels,” the first single from the upcoming release is making the rounds.

Dream Theater
"A Dramatic Turn of Events"
Release date: September 12, 2011

01 - On the Backs of Angels
02 - Build Me Up, Break Me Down
03 - Lost Not Forgotten
04 - This is the Life
05 - The Shaman's Trance
06 - Outcry
07 - Far From Heaven
08 - Breaking All Illusions
09 - Beneath The Surface

Dream Theater Dream Theater

Dream Theater – On The Backs Of Angels (2011)