Monday, April 30, 2012

Lenny Kravitz: Mama Said deluxe reissue due in June

Lenny Kravitz is releasing a Deluxe Edition of his 1991 album, “Mama Said,” on June 5.

Billboard reports Kravitz raided his vaults to create a two-disc package that features 21 bonus tracks, 15 of which have been previously unreleased.

Featured are home demos of "It Ain't Over 'Til It's Over," "The Difference Is Why" and "What the...Are We Saying?," remixes, instrumental takes of several tracks and eight songs recorded live in Japan and in Rotterdam, Netherlands. The set also includes two previously unreleased (and unfinished) songs, "Riding On The Wings Of My Lord" and the instrumental segue "Framed, Lying, Crying."

"It was a crazy time,” Lenny tells Billboard. “My ex-wife (actress Lisa Bonet, who he divorced in 1993) and I were going through issues. I just had my child the year before ('Let Love Rule' came out). I was adjusting to success and...fame. It was a lot to deal with. I ended up kind of going into hibernation, 'cause at that point I went through a pretty serious depression. I just let all these feelings out onto the songs. It was very cathartic for me."

“Mama Said” became Kravitz's first U.S. Top 40 album, reaching #39 on the Billboard 200.

Lenny is currently on the road in Europe, supporting 2011's "Black and White America" with a mix festival stops with headlining dates.

Read more about Kravitz at Billboard here.

Lenny Kravitz
Mama Said Deluxe Edition
Release date: June 5, 2012


01. Fields Of Joy
02. Always On The Run
03. Stand By My Woman
04. It Ain't Over 'Till It's Over
05. More Than Anything in This World
06. What Goes Around Comes Around
07. The Difference Is Why
08. Stop Draggin' Around
09. Flowers For Zoe
10. Fields Of Joy (Reprise)
11. All I Ever Wanted
12. When The Morning Turns To Night
13. What The .... Are We Saying?
14. Butterfly
15. Light Skin Girl From London
16. I'll Be Around
17. Always On The Run (Instrumental)
18. It Ain't Over Til It's Over (12" Remix Instrumental)*
19. It Ain't Over Til It's Over (12" Extended/Dub version)*


01. Riding On The Wings Of My Lord (Rough Demo)*
02. It Ain't Over Til It's Over (Home Demo)*
03. What The .... Are We Saying (Home Demo) *
04. The Difference Is Why (Home Demo)*
05. Riding On The Wings Of My Lord (Funky Vocal)*
06. Riding On The Wings Of My Lord (Instrumental)*
07. Framed, Lying, Crying (Instrumental)*
08. Stand By My Woman (Instrumental)*
09. Stop Draggin' Around (Live in Rotterdam)*
10. Always On The Run (Live in Rotterdam)*
11. Fields Of Joy (Live in Rotterdam)*
12. Stand By My Woman (Live in Rotterdam)*
13. More Than Anything In This World (Live in Rotterdam)*
14. Always On The Run (live in Japan)
15. Stop Draggin' Around (live in Japan)
16. What The... Are We Saying? (live in Japan)

(*) Indicates previously unreleased

Lenny Kravitz Lenny Kravitz

Lenny Kravitz – Always On The Run

See also:

VIDEO: Slash & Lenny Kravitz rock Muhammad Ali tribute
VIDEO: Lenny Kravitz rocks Super Bowl tailgate party
VIDEO: Lenny Kravitz rocks X Factor
VIRAL VIDEO: Lenny Kravitz is angry
VIDEO: Watch full Lenny Kravitz set from Rock In Rio 4
VIDEO: Lenny Kravitz rocks NBC Today Show
VIDEO: Lenny Kravitz rocks Jimmy Fallon
VIDEO: Lenny Kravitz rocks Letterman
VIDEO: Lenny Kravitz – Stand (acoustic)
VIDEO: Zakk Wylde rocks Lenny Kravitz on Lopez Tonight
VIDEO: Lenny Kravitz rocks NBA All-Star Game
Lenny Kravitz: new album due this summer