Tuesday, February 18, 2014

Bruce Springsteen releases 10 remastered albums on iTunes

Bruce Springsteen has issued 10 remastered albums from his catalog for release on iTunes today.

Five of the records have been transferred from analog to digital using new technology for the first time, including 1973’s “Greetings from Asbury Park, NJ” and “The Wild, The Innocent & The E Street Shuffle”, 1975’s “Born To Run”, 1978’s “Darkness On The Edge Of Town” and 1984’s “Born In The U.S.A.”

Over the last two years, under the supervision of Springsteen and engineer Toby Scott, Jamie Howarth of Plangent Processes utilized new audio technology capable of repairing pitch and timing errors embedded in analog recordings to transfer Springsteen's early album with improved definition.

Plangent Processes' unique technology for archiving original source tapes eliminates many of the inevitable distortions inherent in vintage recordings, resulting in greater transparency, detail and clarity. After the transfers were made, they were remastered by Bob Ludwig.

Springsteen is currently on tour in support of his latest album, “High Hopes”, which is also a part of the newly-remastered series released today.

Bruce Springsteen
Albums Mastered For iTunes

01. Greetings From Asbury Park, NJ
02. The Wild, The Innocent & The E Street Shuffle
03. Born To Run
04. Darkness On The Edge of Town
05. Born In The U.S.A.
06. We Shall Overcome – The Seeger Sessions
07. Working On A Dream
08. The Promise
09. Wrecking Ball
10. High Hopes

Bruce Bruce Springsteen

See also:

VIDEO: Eddie Vedder joins Bruce Springsteen for AC/DC classic in Melbourne
Bruce Springsteen announces US tour
VIDEO: Bruce Springsteen performs AC/DC classic in Perth
Bruce Springsteen may release concert archives
Search Bruce Springsteen at hennemusic