Monday, March 17, 2014

R.E.M. to release two Unplugged concerts on Record Store Day

R.E.M. are issuing “Unplugged: The Complete 1991 and 2001 Sessions” as a 4-LP vinyl set for Record Store Day on April 19.

The set will include every performance from the original broadcasts – as well as 11 songs that never aired – marking the first time audio from both shows will be made available from the only band to headline the famed MTV series twice.

Five songs that never aired on the 1991 broadcast can be heard on this set for the first time, including two tracks from the multi-platinum album, “Green”, including “Get Up” and “World Leader Pretend.”

Material from the 2001 appearance, without original drummer Bill Berry (who retired in 1997 following a health scare), will include six songs never-before broadcast, a mixture of tracks from “Reveal” and 1998’s “Up”, as well as a re-imagination of the band’s breakthrough single, “The One I Love” from 1987’s “Document.”

Following their debut on vinyl for Record Store Day 2014, both “Unplugged” performances will be released on CD and digitally on May 20.

Always advocates for independent record stores, on April 19th (Record Store Day) R.E.M. bassist Mike Mills will be signing copies of the limited-edition, four-LP set at Bull Moose record store in Scarborough, Maine.

For full details, visit

R.E.M. formally disbanded on September 21, 2011 – read their public statement here.

“Unplugged: The Complete 1991 And 2001 Sessions”

4-LP Track Listing

1991 Unplugged

Side One
1. “Half A World Away”
2. “Disturbance at the Heron House”
3. “Radio Song”
4. “Low”

Side Two
1. “Perfect Circle”
2. “Fall on Me”
3. “Belong”
4. “Love Is All Around”

Side Three
1. “Its The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)”
2. “Losing My Religion”
3. “Pop Song 89”
4. “Endgame”

Side Four
1. “Fretless”*
2. “Swan Swan H”*
3. “Rotary 11”*
4. “Get Up”*
5. “World Leader Pretend”*

2001 Unplugged

Side Five
1. “All The Way To Reno (You’re Gonna Be a Star)”
2. “Electrolite”
3. “At My Most Beautiful”
4. “Daysleeper”

Side Six
1. “So. Central Rain (I’m Sorry)”
2. “Losing My Religion”
3. “Country Feedback”
4. “Cuyahoga”

Side Seven
1. “Imitation of Life”
2. “Find the River”
3. “The One I Love”*
4. “Disappear”*

Side Eight
1. “Beat a Drum”*
2. “I’ve Been High”*
3. “I’ll Take the Rain”*
4. “Sad Professor”*

* Not included in original television broadcast

See also:

R.E.M. announce break-up
VIDEO: R.E.M. – Every Day Is Yours To Win
U2’s Bono can’t give away new R.E.M. album
NEW VIDEO: R.E.M. - 'Oh My Heart'
NEW VIDEOS: R.E.M. 'Uberlin' and 'It Happened Today'
R.E.M. launch Fan Remix Project
New video: R.E.M. “Discoverer”