Monday, June 23, 2014

Robert Plant releases first single from new album

Robert Plant has released “Rainbow” as the lead single from his forthcoming album, “lullaby And… The Ceaseless Roar.”

Due September 5 in Europe, September 8 in the UK and September 9 in North America, the project with The Sensational Space Shifters was produced by Plant.

The band recently toured the world before recording the album at Helium Studios in Wiltshire and Real World Studios in Bath, UK.

The single, “Rainbow”, was recorded in Contino Rooms in London.

The album features 9 new songs and two covers: The Stanley Brothers’ “Little Maggie” and the Lead Belly tune, “Poor Howard.”

“It’s really a celebratory record, powerful, gritty, African, Trance meets Zep,” explains Plant. “The whole impetus of my life as a singer has to be driven by a good brotherhood. I am very lucky to work with The Sensational Space Shifters. They come from exciting areas of contemporary music…I have been around awhile and I ask myself, do I have anything to say? Is there a song still inside me? In my heart? I see life and what’s happening to me.”

“Along the trail, there are expectations, disappointments, happiness, questions and strong relationships,” he adds, “….and now I’m able to express my feelings through melody, power and trance; together in a kaleidescope of sound, colour, and friendship.”

Plant and the band are on the road playing shows across Europe this summer.

Robert Plant
“lullaby and… The Ceaseless Roar”

01 - "Little Maggie" (Trad. arr. by Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)
02 - "Rainbow"
03 - "Pocketful Of Golden"
04 - "Embrace Another Fall"
05 - "Turn It Up"
06 - "A Stolen Kiss"
07 - "Somebody There"
08 - "Poor Howard"
09 - "House Of Love"
10 - "Up On The Hollow Hill" (Understanding Arthur)
11 - "Arbaden" (Maggie’s Babby)

See also:

Led Zeppelin’s Jimmy Page to be honored at 02 Silver Clef Awards
Led Zeppelin reissues debut on US charts
VIDEO: Robert Plant launches summer tour in Morocco
Led Zeppelin reissues debut on UK charts
Led Zeppelin reissues expected to make strong US chart debut
Search Led Zeppelin at hennemusic