Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Stevie Nicks premieres new single The Dealer

Stevie Nicks is premiering a new single, “The Dealer”, as the lead track from her upcoming solo album, “24 Karat Gold — Songs From the Vault.”

Nicks initially wrote and recorded "The Dealer" with Fleetwood Mac in the late 70s when the band was working on their 1979 album, “Tusk.”

Due October 7th, “24 Karat Gold — Songs From the Vault” features a collection of lost and stray songs that Nicks has written and recorded through the years, but never made it onto an album.

"I used to make cassettes of my songs and hand them out,” Stevie explains. “But to know that these songs have finally been recorded with the same love they were originally created is joyous for me. I picked 12 songs from about 40 demos made from '69 - '87 and one each from 94 and 95. These songs are all about love and heartbreak -- how to pick up the pieces -- how to keep moving... I'm really chronicling love from the very beginning.”

“When you write a song and it doesn't go on a record, it floats around in your life for years,” she added. “I took myself back to the time when these songs were written... Sometimes I can't remember what happened yesterday but I remember so well what happened through the whole period of time that I wrote these songs. You think about them and go over them and they live inside of you until they becomes part of your world. These songs are now 24 Karat Gold."

The selections were all newly recorded in Nashville and co-produced by Nicks, Dave Stewart and Waddy Wachtel.

Nicks’ most recent release is 2011’s “In Your Dreams.”

Nicks and Fleetwood Mac announced the return of Christine McVie to the band for a North American tour this fall, with dates starting September 30 in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Fleetwood Mac’s The On With The Show Tour sees the reunion of the group’s hugely successful mid-1970s lineup, which cranked out hit albums like 1975’s self-titled release, 1977’s “Rumours” and 1979’s “Tusk.”

This spring, Fleetwood Mac were in the studio working on new music while Nicks was busy recording this solo collection.

Stevie Nicks
“24 Karat Gold – Songs From The Vault”

Release date: October 7

Deluxe Version

01. Starshine
02. If You Were My Love
03. Mabel Normand
04. Twisted (bonus track)
05. 24 Karat Gold
06. Belle Fleur
07. All The Beautiful Worlds
08. Lady
09. I Don't Care
10. Watch Chain (bonus track)
11. Hard Advice
12. Carousel
13. Blue Water
14. Cathouse Blues
15. The Dealer
16. She Loves Him Still

Standard Edition

01. Starshine
02. The Dealer
03. Mabel Normand
04. Blue Water
05. Cathouse Blues
06. 24 Karat Gold
07. Hard Advice
08. Lady
09. I Don't Care
10. All The Beautiful Worlds
11. Belle Fleur
12. If You Were My Love
13. Carousel
14. She Loves Him Still

See also:

Stevie Nicks joins NBC’s The Voice as an advisor
Fleetwood Mac keyboardist honored with lifetime achievement award for songwriting
Stevie Nicks working on new album
Fleetwood Mac working on new music
Search Fleetwood Mac at hennemusic
Search Stevie Nicks at hennemusic