Thursday, October 9, 2014

Neil Young announces new album Storytone

Neil Young has announced details and release plans for his forthcoming album, “Storytone.”

Due November 4, the project features 10 new tunes recorded live in the studio with a 92-piece orchestra, choir and Young.

The singer began the sessions by first recording the songs on his own in a solo-setting, then creating versions of the songs in a new light with an orchestra and big band.

Young’s second album issued this year, following “A Letter Home”, “Storytone” will be available in a standard CD edition presenting the orchestral performance, a deluxe CD edition (containing both standard and solo versions), and the deluxe 180 gram double vinyl pressing, which will be released on December 16 and will feature both versions of the album.

“Storytone” was produced by Young and Niko Bolas; it was recorded and mixed by Al Schmitt with additional co-production, arrangements, orchestration, and conducted by Michael Bearden and Chris Walden.

Young will host the 28th Annual Bridge School Benefit concerts in California later this month.

The October 25/26 weekend event at the Shoreline Amphitheatre in Mountain View will see performances by Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, Florence + The Machine, Tom Jones, Norah Jones, Band Of Horses and additional guests

Neil Young

Release date: November 4

01. Plastic Flowers
02. Who’s Gonna Stand Up?
03. I Want To Drive My Car
04. Glimmer
05. Say Hello To Chicago
06. Tumbleweed
07. Like You Used To Do
08. I’m Glad I Found You
09. When I Watch You Sleeping
10. All Those Dreams

See also:

Neil Young announces and previews new album Storeytone
Pearl Jam & Soundgarden to play Neil Young’s Bridge School Benefit concerts
Neil Young files for divorce after 36 years of marriage
Neil Young & Crazy Horse cancel Tel Aviv concert
Search Neil Young at hennemusic