Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Soundgarden to release 3-CD rarities collection Echo Of Miles

Soundgarden will release a 3-CD, 50-track rarities collection, "Echo Of Miles: Scattered Tracks Across The Path", on November 24.

Among the set's seven unreleased tracks is a brand-new recording, "Storm", recorded in May this year with producer Jack Endino in Seattle.

Curated by guitarist Kim Thayil, “Echo Of Miles” features original B-sides, unreleased tracks, instrumentals, covers and demos.

"As album sets go, this one has been fun to collect and compile over the decades," says Thayil. “I personally may have referenced this project a number of times over the years, going back almost twenty of them to the mid-Nineties!"

Disc 1, dubbed "Originals", is filled with Soundgarden songs – mainly B-sides – in addition to two unreleased tunes, "Kristi" and "Storm."

Disc 2, "Covers", presents covers of tracks by The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, The Doors, The Ramones, Devo and others.

Disc 3, "Oddities", offers instrumentals, remixes and demos, including Steve Fisk's unreleased "The Telephantasm (Resurrection Remix)", "Twin Tower" written by Matt Cameron, which was originally recorded at Seattle's London Bridge studio in December 1988 during the sessions for "Louder Than Love", and "Night Surf", an instrumental performed by bassist Ben Shepherd.

The Seattle band’s last studio album, 20102’s “King Animal”, was the group’s first in 16 years following an extended hiatus.

Soundgarden performed a pair of sets over the weekend at the 28th Annual Bridge School Benefit concerts in California – check out video here.

The event saw singer Chris Cornell team with Pearl Jam for a Temple Of The Dog reunion on Saturday – watch the performance of “Hunger Strike” here.

Also appearing at the Bridge School weekend shows were Neil Young, Florence + The Machine, Tom Jones, Norah Jones, Band Of Horses and others.

"Echo Of Miles: Scattered Tracks Across The Path"

Releasae date: November 24

CD 1 - Originals

01. Sub Pop Rock City
02. Toy Box
03. Heretic
04. Fresh Deadly Roses
05. HIV Baby
06. Cold Bitch
07. Show Me
08. She's A Politician
09. Birth Ritual
10. She Likes Surprises
11. Kyle Petty, Son of Richard
12. Exit Stonehenge
13. Blind Dogs
14. Bleed Together
15. Black Rain
16. Live To Rise
17. Kristi*
18. Storm*

CD 2 - Covers

01. Swallow My Pride
02. Smokestack Lightnin'
03. Everybody's Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey (John Peel BBC Sessions)*
04. Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin) (John Peel BBC Sessions)*
05. Come Together
06. Stray Cat Blues
07. Into The Void (Sealth)
08. Girl U Want
09. Touch Me
10. Can You See Me? (Friday Rock Show BBC Sessions)
11. Homicidal Suicidal (Friday Rock Show BBC Sessions)
12. I Can't Give You Anything (Friday Rock Show BBC Sessions)
13. I Don't Care About You (Friday Rock Show BBC Sessions)
14. Waiting For The Sun (Live)
15. Search And Destroy (Live)
16. Big Bottom (Live)
17. Earache My Eye (Live)

CD 3 - Oddities

01. Twin Tower*
02. Jerry Garcia's Finger
03. Ghostmotorfinger
04. Night Surf*
05. A Splice Of Space Jam
06. The Telephantasm
07. Black Days III
08. Karaoke
09. Fopp (F**ked Up Heavy Dub Mix)
10. Big Dumb Sex (Dub Version)
11. Spoonman (Steve Fisk Remix)
12. Rhinosaur (The Straw That Broke The Rhino's Back Remix)
13. Dusty (Moby Remix)
14. The Telephantasm (Steve Fisk 2014 Remix)*
15. One Minute Of Silence

See also:

AUDIO: Soundgarden release new single Storm
VIDEO: Soundgarden unplug for Bridge School Benefit Concert
VIDEO: Temple Of The Dog reunite at Bridge School Benefit
Chris Cornell to host An Evening with Jimmy Page in Los Angeles
Search Soundgarden at hennemusic