Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Pete Townshend launches solo album reissues series

Pete Townshend of The Who has released 11 albums from his solo catalog digitally as part of a extensive reissues program.

The 11 releases cover 1972’s “Who Came First”, his collaboration with The Faces’ Ronnie Lane “Rough Mix”, his musical version of Ted Hughes’s “The Iron Man”, his collections of demos “Scoop”, “Another Scoop” and “Scoop 3”, as well as the albums “Empty Glass”, “All The Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes”, “White City”, “Psychoderelict” and the live album “Deep End Live!” featuring David Gilmour.

All 11 records will be remastered and reissued on CD later this year as part of an extensive reissue program for Townshend’s solo material that will run into 2016.

Townshend and The Who recently played the first run of UK dates for their 50 anniversary farewell tour, “The Who Hits 50!”; the band will launch a North American leg in Tampa, Florida on April 15.

Pete Townshend
Digital reissues
Release date: February 25

(1972) Who Came First
(1977) Rough Mix
(1980) Empty Glass
(1982) All The Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes
(1983) Scoop
(1985) White City
(1986) Deep End Live
(1987) Another Scoop
(1989) Iron Man: The Musical
(1993) Psychoderelict
(1994) Scoop 3

See also:

VIDEO: Who classic remixed for new Cablevision commercial
The Who to perform at New Orleans Jazz Festival
The Who postpone London shows due to illness
VIDEO: Roger Daltrey crashes wedding to sing Who classic
Search The Who at hennemusic