Monday, February 23, 2015

The Darkness to release Last Of Our Kind

UK rockers The Darkness will issue their 4th album, “Last Of Our Kind”, on June 1.

Produced by guitarist Dan Hawkins, the follow-up to 2012’s “Hot Cakes” is preceded by the newly-released lead single, “Barbarian.”

According to vocalist Justin Hawkins, the song has “not one but two dramatic monologues, a guitar solo that has been declared 'irresponsible', a riff that weakens lady-knees and a chorus that makes grown men s*** directly into their pants."

"The lyrics describe the Viking invasion of East Anglia which culminated in the decapitation of Edmund the Martyr,” he adds. “So yeah, classic Darkness.”

The album sees the debut of new drummer Emily Dolan Davies, who replaces original drummer Ed Graham after a split last year.

Davies will make her live debut with The Darkness at an intimate "secret" show March 4 on Ireland’s Valentia Island as part of a 10-show run across the country to road test their new material next month.

“Last Of Our Kind” will be released on limited edition color vinyl, CD digital download.

The Darkness
“Last Of Our Kind”

Release date: June 1

01. Barbarian
02. Open Fire
03. Last of Our Kind
04. Roaring Waters
05. Wheels of the Machine
06. Mighty Wings
07. Mudslide
08. Sarah O’Sarah
09. Hammer & Tongs
10. Conquerors

See also:

AUDIO: The Darkness preview new single Barbarian
The Darkness confirm new album and drummer
AUDIO: The Darkness release new single - The Horn
The Darkness announce Permission To Land 10th anniversary tour
Search The Darkness at hennemusic