Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Whitesnake singer revisits Deep Purple with The Purple Album

Whitesnake frontman David Coverdale is revisiting his time with Deep Purple on the band’s upcoming release, “The Purple Album.”

Due May 19, the group’s 12th album features the lead single, “Stormbringer”, with Coverdale re-recording classic songs from the Deep Purple’s Mark 3 and Mark 4 records he appeared on: “Burn” (1974), “Stormbringer” (1974) and “Come Taste The Band” (1975).

“It’s a tribute. An homage,” explains Coverdale. “It’s a huge thank you from me to Deep Purple for the opportunity I was given over 40 years ago. As I said to Ritchie, you guys set me on an incredible journey that continues today and I couldn’t have asked for better teachers.”

“The University of Deep Purple was an extraordinary, amazing school to learn from. We can’t wait to play these songs in concert!”

Coverdale was with Deep Purple from August 1973 to March of 1976, following which the group disbanded; the Mark 2 lineup of Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Jon Lord and Ian Paice reunited in 1984 and the group has continued – through lineup changes – to this day.

In addition to Coverdale, Whitesnake’s current lineup includes Reb Beach and Joel Hoekstra on guitars, Michael Devin on bass and Tommy Aldridge on drums.

“The Purple Album” will be available as a deluxe edition featuring 2 bonus tracks, 4 music videos and a Behind The Scenes documentary on the recording of the album.

A standard edition and a double LP vinyl format will be available in the near future; plans are also underway for a special limited box set edition with memorabilia and merchandise. All product details will be announced soon.

“The Purple Album”

Release date: May 19

01. Burn
02. You Fool No One (interpolating Itchy Fingers)
03. Love Child
04. Sail Away
05. The Gypsy
06. Lady Double Dealer
07. Mistreated
08. Holy Man
09. Might Just Take Your Life
10. You Keep On Moving
11. Soldier Of Fortune
12. Lay Down Stay Down
13. Stormbringer

Deluxe edition bonus tracks

14. Lady Luck
15. Comin' Home

DVD content

* "Lady Double Dealer" - Music Video
* "Sail Away" - Mix Music Video
* "Stormbringer" - Music Video
* "Soldier Of Fortune" - Music Video
* "The Purple Album" Behind The Scenes
* "The Purple Album" EPK

See also:

VIDEO: Whitesnake tease upcoming announcement
VIDEO: Whitesnake preview 1984 live package
Whitesnake to release 1984 live package
Whitesnake names new guitarist
Search Whitesnake at hennemusic