Thursday, June 18, 2015

Iron Maiden to release The Book Of Souls double album this fall

Iron Maiden will release their first-ever double studio album, “The Book Of Souls”, on September 4.

Produced by Kevin Shirley and recorded in Paris in 2014, the 11-track project has been delayed so that vocalist Bruce Dickinson – who was recently given the all-clear from a tumour – would have time to recuperate and assist in the preparations for the album’s launch.

“We’re really excited about The Book Of Souls and had a fantastic time creating it,” says Dickinson. “We started working on the album in late summer 2014 and recorded it at Guillame Tell Studios in Paris, where we’d done the Brave New World album back in 2000 so the studio holds special memories for all of us.

“We were delighted to discover the same magical vibe is still alive and very much kicking there! So we immediately felt at home and the ideas just started flowing. By the time we’d finished we all agreed that each track was such an integral part of the whole body of work that if it needed to be a double album, then double its going to be!”

“We approached this album in a different way to how we’ve recorded previously,” adds bassist/founder Steve Harris. “A lot of the songs were actually written while we were there in the studio and we rehearsed and recorded them straight away while they were still fresh, and I think that immediacy really shows in the songs, they have almost a live feel to them I think.

“I’m very proud of The Book Of Souls, we all are, and we can’t wait for our fans to hear it, and especially to take it out on the road next year!”

“The Book Of Souls” will be available in a 2CD deluxe hardbound book limited edition, 2CD standard edition, Triple heavyweight black vinyl, High res audio (24-bit Mastered for ITunes and non-Mastered for iTunes) and Standard res audio (16 bit/ 44.1 kHz).

Iron Maiden
“The Book Of Souls”

Release date: September 4

Disc 1

01. If Eternity Should Fail
02. Speed Of Light
03. The Great Unknown
04. The Red And The Black
05. When The River Runs Deep
06. The Book Of Souls

Disc 2

07. Death Or Glory
08. Shadows Of The Valley
09. Tears Of A Clown
10. The Man Of Sorrows
11. Empire Of The Clouds

See also:

Iron Maiden bassist Steve Harris announces UK tour
VIDEO: Ed Sheeran performs Iron Maiden classic on the Tonight Show
Iron Maiden singer declared cancer-free
Iron Maiden: Trooper beer to celebrate 2nd anniversary
Search Iron Maiden at hennemusic