Tuesday, July 14, 2015

AUDIO: Megadeth offshoot Act Of Defiance premiere Refrain And Re-Fracture

Act Of Defiance – the new band launched by former Megadeth duo Chris Broderick and Shawn Drover – are premiering “Refrain And Re-Fracture”, a track featured on their upcoming debut album, “Birth And The Burial.”

Due August 21, the project sees the pair joined by former Scar The Martyr singer Henry Derek Bonner and Shadows Fall bassist Matt Bachand as the foursome build a new brand for themselves.

“Refrain And Re-Fracture”'s creation started off with the classical guitar, of all instruments,” explains Broderick. “I wanted a moody beginning into a heavy verse with each instrument entering and slowly, building the tension until the transition to the verse. At this point, a tempo change was needed for something more fast paced and aggressive with heavy vocals (Henry definitely delivered on that!!!).

“For the chorus I definitely was looking for as much melody as possible but still heavy in nature. The bridge to the solo and the solo has a much more modern feel to them, utilizing polyrhythms to create groove and an open canvas for my solo. As for the solo, hell, I just hope people like what I did! Overall I feel this song does a great job of showing how diverse Act Of Defiance can be while still staying firmly rooted in metal!"

"“Refrain And Re-Fracture” is a great example of using musical dynamics in a heavy metal song,” adds Drover. “All of us in Act Of Defiance have always been fans of cool acoustic/classical song intros before the metal assault kicks in, so when Chris presented this song to me I immediately loved the tune.”

The song follows the album’s lead track, “Throwback.”

Both Broderick and Drover issued separate statements in late November – just hours apart – that they were leaving Megadeth to pursue their own musical interests.

Act Of Defiance
"Birth And The Burial"

Release date: August 21

01. Throwback
02. Legion of Lies
03. Thy Lord Belial
04. Refrain and Re-Fracture
05. Dead Stare
06. Disastrophe (A New Reality)
07. Poison Dream
08. Obey the Fallen
09. Crimson Psalm
10. Birth and the Burial

See also:

Former Megadeth duo launch Act Of Defiance
Former Megadeth duo resurface as Act Of Defiance
Former Megadeth duo add bassist to new band
Megadeth guitarist Chris Broderick leaves band
Megadeth drummer Shawn Drover quits band