Wednesday, March 2, 2016

AUDIO: Tremonti preview third album Dust

Alter Bridge offshoot Tremonti are previewing a pair of songs from their forthcoming album, “Dust.”

“Catching Fire” and “The Cage” are featured on the band’s third studio effort, due April 29.

Produced by Michael “Elvis” Baskette, the project was recorded during the same sessions as 2015’s “Cauterize.”

As a result, “Dust” also features the lineup of guitarist/vocalist Mark Tremonti, guitarist Eric Friedman, bassist Wolfgang Van Halen and drummer Garrett Whitlock.

"At first I just wanted to record as many songs as possible,” Tremonti tells Army Of 12 Germany. “But when I stepped back and listened to it, I was, like, 'You know what?! Let's make two records.' So I left some of my favorite songs on the second record, just so people aren't gonna buy the first record and then go, 'Okay, this is the good record and this is the bad one. These are the bad songs.'

“Some of my favorite songs are on the second record. The title track, ‘Dust’, I think, has the best chorus of the whole recording process. ‘Dust’ has my favorite solo. The opening track, ‘My Last Mistake’, is one of my favorite songs. It's got the big ballad of the two records. It's definitely not the 'b-sides' of ‘Cauterize.’"

Tremonti will kick off a European tour on May 31 in Aschaffenburg, Germany.


Release date: April 29

01. My Last Mistake
02. The Cage
03. Once Dead
04. Dust
05. Betray Me
06. Tore My Heart Out
07. Catching Fire
08. Never Wrong
09. Rising Storm
10. Unable To See

See also:

Alter Bridge to record fifth album in 2016
Tremonti announces European tour
Alter Bridge offshoot Tremonti announces North American tour
Tremonti issue Cauterize live video
Search Alter Bridge at hennemusic