Thursday, April 28, 2016

Neil Young announces new live album Earth

Neil Young and The Promise Of The Real will release a new live album, “Earth”, on June 17.

The set mixes 2015 concert readings with the Promise Of The Real band – featuring Willie Nelson’s sons Micah and Lukas – alongside ambient elements like car horns, insects and animal sounds.

“Ninety-eight uninterrupted minutes long, Earth flows as a collection of 13 songs from throughout my life, songs I have written about living here on our planet together,” explains Young. “Our animal kingdom is well represented in the audience as well, and the animals, insects, birds and mammals actually take over the performances of the songs at times.”

The project offers 12 tracks from Young’s career and “I Won’t Quit”, an unreleased tune the rocker debuted at Farm Aid 30 in Chicago, IL last September.

"I'm very happy with what I'm doing," Young told Rolling Stone earlier this spring about the project. "I don't know what its place is in the world, but I like it. I feel really good and amped and energized. And I feel like I'm doing something that I've never done before. It's not just music. It's a soundscape. It's kind of like flying around listening to things with your eyes closed."

Young will host the first public playback of “Earth” via his Pono high definition fidelity audio format at The Natural History Museum in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, May 6.

The “An Evening With Neil Young” event will also feature the musician discussing the creation of the new LP and is being presented as part of the museum’s First Fridays series. More details and tickets are available here.

Young and Promise Of The Real launched their spring 2016 dates this week in New Braunfels, TX; they’ll play the new Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival on May 1 and a launch a European tour in Glasgow, Scotland on June 5.

Neil Young

Release date: June 17

01. Mother Earth (originally from Ragged Glory)
02. I Won’t Quit (Unreleased)
03. My Country Home (Ragged Glory)
04. The Monsanto Years (The Monsanto Years)
05. Western Hero (Sleeps With Angels)
06. Vampire Blues (On The Beach)
07. Hippie Dream (Landing On Water)
08. After The Gold Rush (ATGR)
09. Human Highway (Comes A Time)
10. Big Box (The Monsanto Years)
11. People Want to Hear About Love (The Monsanto Years)
12. Wolf Moon (The Monsanto Years)
13. Love & Only Love (Ragged Glory)

See also:

Neil Young finishing new album for spring release
Neil Young to release Rust Never Sleeps and Human Highway on DVD
Neil Young streams The Monsanto Years ahead of release
Neil Young comments on song use in US Presidential campaign
Search Neil Young at hennemusic