Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Steven Tyler announces debut solo album release

Aerosmith frontman Steven Tyler will release his debut solo album, “We’re All Somebody From Somewhere”, on July 15.

Rolling Stone reports the album, co-produced by Tyler with roots master T Bone Burnett, Dann Huff, Jaren Johnston and Marti Frederikson, will feature 15 new songs including his first two country singles, "Love Is Your Name" and "Red, White And You," as well as an all new, "darker, countrified" version of the Aerosmith smash "Janie's Got A Gun."

"I believe y'all are gonna listen to this stuff and you’re gonna agree with me that it fell from a star," Tyler said on a press conference via phone. "I had nothing to do with this, it's just Nashville. There's something so magical about this town and me writing with all these people."

A longtime fan of country music, Tyler says he took pains to make his new music as authentic as possible, keeping the recordings stripped down and insisting on minimal vocal takes, while featuring steel guitar, mandolin and above all, melody.

"Country music still plays stuff with melody, I have a sorcerer's grasp of melody, I like to think," he explains. "I'm a freak for that so thank God they're still playing it in country, and I think they're gonna be all over songs like 'Only Heaven' and you guys are gonna be surprised."

Tyler will present the new music backed by the Nashville-based band Loving Mary during his first solo tour, “Out On A Limb”, which starts in Las Vegas on July 2.

The intimate theatre shows will see the singer rework Aerosmith classics and tell stories behind some of the band's most beloved hits.

"It's a very living-room thing to play small venues, it's a little more personal," explains Tyler. "I get to talk to people and be up-close and personal, and tell them how the music business is a dark trench, a dark, dirty, money trench. And talk about where I get my inspiration from and talk about the new songs on the record and get to play, finally, songs that we couldn't because the record will be out by then."

See also:

AUDIO: Brad Whitford and Derek St. Holmes premiere tracks from Reunion album
Steven Tyler announces summer solo tour
Thin Lizzy adds Aerosmith and Judas Priest members to lineup
Aerosmith: Joe Perry adds Iggy Pop and more to solo album
Search Aerosmith at hennemusic