Thursday, October 6, 2016

Rolling Stones to release covers album Blue & Lonesome

The Rolling Stones will release a collection of blues covers, “Blue & Lonesome”, on December 2.

Produced by Don Was, Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, the band’s first studio album in over a decade features a pair of guest appearances by Eric Clapton and updated versions of tunes originally recorded by blues legends Willie Dixon, Howlin’ Wolf, Little Walter and Magic Sam, among others.

The project was recorded over three days in December last year at British Grove Studios in West London, just a stone’s throw from Richmond and Eel Pie Island where the Stones started out as a young blues band playing pubs and clubs.

The group played live in the studio without overdubs and were joined by Clapton, who happened to be in the next studio making his own album.

“This album is manifest testament to the purity of their love for making music,” says Was, “and the blues is, for the Stones, the fountainhead of everything they do.”

Guitarist Ron Wood previously shared some insight into the sessions for the follow-up to 2005’s “A Bigger Bang.”

"We went in to cut some new songs, which we did," said Wood in April. "But we got on a blues streak. We cut 11 blues in two days. They are extremely great cover versions of Howlin' Wolf and Little Walter, among other blues people. But they really sound authentic.”

“Blue & Lonesome” will be available on CD, vinyl and digital download, with a Deluxe Box Set version adding a 75 page mini-book about the making of the album and band postcard prints.

A full tracklist can be found below.

The Rolling Stones are previewing “Blue & Lonesome” with a snippet of “Just Your Fool”, originally recorded by Little Walter.

The band return to live action this weekend at the Desert Trip festival in Indio, CA.

The new classic rock festival – running October 7-9 and 14-16 at the Empire Polo Club – will see the Stones and Bob Dylan perform on Fridays, Paul McCartney and Neil Young on Saturdays, and Roger Waters and The Who on Sunday evenings.

The Rolling Stones
“Blue & Lonesome”

Release date: December 2

01 - "Just Your Fool" (orig by Buddy Johnson)
02 - "Commit A Crime" (orig by Howlin' Wolf)
03 - "Blue and Lonesome" (orig by Little Walter)
04 - "All Of Your Love" (orig by Magic Sam)
05 - "I Gotta Go" (orig by Little Walter)
06 - "Everybody Knows About My Good Thing" (ft. Eric Clapton; orig by Little Johnny Taylor)
07 - "Ride ‘Em On Down" (orig by Eddie Taylor)
08 - "Hate To See You Go" (orig by Little Walter)
09 - "Hoo Doo Blues" (orig by Lightnin' Slim)
10 - "Little Rain" (orig by Jimmy Reed)
11 - "Just Like I Treat You" (orig by Willie Dixon)
12 - "I Can’t Quit You Baby" (ft Eric Clapton, orig by Willie Dixon)

See also:

Rolling Stones play surprise Las Vegas show and tease blues album news
VIDEO: Rolling Stones preview Havana Moon DVD release
Rolling Stones add second Las Vegas show
VIDEO: Rolling Stones preview Latin American tour documentary
Search Rolling Stones at hennemusic