Tuesday, November 15, 2016

Sammy Hagar to release new compilation this week

Sammy Hagar will release a new compilation, “This Is Sammy Hagar: When The Party Started, Vol 1”, on November 18.

“This CD is a collection of what I feel are the best songs I wrote post-Van Halen that mostly didn't get a lot of mainstream attention,” explains the Red Rocker. “When I left Van Halen, I formed the Wabos as an alternative to the superstar big-time, high-maintenance commercial world I had been living in since I joined Montrose in 1972.

“With the Wabos: Jesse Harms, David Lauser, Vic Johnson, Mona and myself, we locked ourselves in my basement studio. We rehearsed and recorded anything and everything I wrote. Along with Bob Daspit, and a few other engineer-friendly people, we produced and engineered ourselves on a new technical recording device called Pro Tools.”

The 14-song set mixes material from Hagar’s four albums with The Waboritas, from 1999’s “Red Voodoo” to 2006’s “Livin’ It Up.”

“This is when the party started,” Hagar adds. “I played hundreds, maybe thousands, of shows anywhere and everywhere without a set list and built a hard-core following of ‘Redheads’. They were really into what we were doing. The birthday bash in Cabo got to the point where thousands of people were sleeping on the streets to hang out with us, and live the life we were living.

“These are some of the special songs, and some of the special times in my musical life, that I want to share with you in this special collection.”

“This Is Sammy Hagar" includes two new tracks – “No Worries” and “Never Said Goodbye” – as well as an alternate mix of “Shag” and a new mix of the lead single, “Sam I Am”, which is previewed below.

Hagar’s most recent release is 2014’s “Lite Roast”; the project with Waboritas guitarist Vic Johnson sees the pair deliver stripped-down versions of tunes from the Red Rocker’s career.

Sammy Hagar
"This Is Sammy Hagar: When The Party Started, Volume 1"

Release date: November 18

01. Stand Up
02. Serious Juju
03. Little Bit More
04. Ten 13
05. The Real Deal
06. Tropic Of Capricorn
07. Maui Wowie
08. Shag (Outtake Mix) +
09. Halfway To Memphis
10. Sam I Am +
11. Livin' On A Coastline
12. One Sip
13. No Worries *
14. Never Said Goodbye *

* New track
+ Alternate mix

See also:

Sammy Hagar apologizes to Van Halen
VIDEO: Sammy Hagar and Kenny Chesney rock I Can’t Drive 55
VIDEO: Sammy Hagar previews summer tour with The Circle
VIDEO: Chickenfoot debut new song at reunion shows
Search Sammy Hagar at hennemusic