Wednesday, December 14, 2016

Pink Floyd to complete vinyl reissues series with pair of 1980s albums

Pink Floyd will complete their extensive series of vinyl reissues with the release of 1983’s “The Final Cut” and 1987’s “A Momentary Lapse Of Reason” on January 20.

The band’s twelfth studio effort, “The Final Cut” was an anti-war concept album that explored the themes of fallen servicemen, the loss of loved ones and political betrayal. The project topped charts around the world while peaking at No. 6 on the US Billboard 200 while selling more than 2 million copies in the country.

1987’s “A Momentary Lapse of Reason” was Pink Floyd’s first album since the December 1985 departure of bassist and primary songwriter Roger Waters. Any concerns about the group’s future at the time were likely laid to rest when the album reached No. 3 on the US Billboard 200 on its way to sales of more than 4 million in the States alone.

Pink Floyd launched the vinyl reissues series in June with their first four albums: 1967’s “The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn”, 1968’s “A Saucerful Of Secrets”, the soundtrack from the 1969 film “More”, and the 1969 2-LP set “Ummagumma.”

The campaign continued in September with a second round of releases featuring three early 1970s albums: “Atom Heart Mother,” “Meddle” and “Obscured By Clouds.”, while a third round arrived in October with “The Dark Side Of The Moon”, “Wish You Were Here” and “Animals.”

A massive 27-disc box set, “The Early Years 1965-1972”, was issued last month.

See also:

VIDEO: Pink Floyd drummer Nick Mason hosts Early Years box set preview
Pink Floyd preview Early Years box set with video for Green Is The Colour
Roger Waters announces North American tour
VIDEO: Roger Waters performs Pink Floyd classics at Desert Trip
Search Pink Floyd at hennemusic