Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Michael Monroe details new best of collection

Finnish rocker Michael Monroe has revealed the track list for his upcoming 2-disc set,“The Best.”

Due June 30 via Spinefarm Records, the 29-track career-spanning collection delivers material from Monroe’s solo career, which he launched in 1987 after the demise of Hanoi Rocks due to the death of drummer Nicholas “Razzle” Dingley in a 1984 car crash with a drunken Vince Neil of Motley Crue behind the wheel.

Monroe’s 1987 debut, “Nights Are So Long”, was followed by a series of studio releases up to, and including his latest, 2015’s “Blackout States.”

"This album is a great representation of my 30-year solo career,” Monroe explains, “including four songs from the Little Steven-produced ‘Demolition 23’ album – which has been unavailable for over 20 years – plus some special rarities and previously unreleased bonus tracks.

"There's a couple of extra special tracks like 'It's A Lie,' sung as a duet with Stiv Bators (Dead Boys, Lords Of The New Church) back in 1985,” he adds, “and a never-before-released second version of the Steppenwolf cover 'Magic Carpet Ride,' featuring Slash, left over from the Coneheads soundtrack project that Slash did with me in 1993.

“And since Slash has the biggest heart of gold in rock 'n' roll, he was kind enough to allow me to use it on this album. God bless him!"

The set also features two other previously unreleased songs, "Fist Fulla Dynamite" and "Simpletown", outtakes from "Blackout States", and the new single "One Foot Outta The Grave."

Monroe will kick off an extensive 2-month tour of his Finnish homeland with an appearance at Rockfest in Vanataa on June 10.

Michael Monroe
“The Best”

Release date: June 30

Disc 1

“Dead Jail Or Rock N Roll”
“Man With No Eyes”
“It's A Lie” (feat. Stiv Bators)
“Nights Are So Long”
“Can’t Go Home Again”
“Nothin's Alright”
“Hammersmith Palais”
“You Crucified Me”
“Deadtime Stories”
“Where’s The Fire John?”
“Make It Go Away”
“Life Gets You Dirty”
“Self Destruction Blues”
“Telephone Bill’s All Mine”

Disc 2

“Trick Of The Wrist”
“All You Need”
“Ballad Of The Lower East Side”
“Eighteen Angels”
“Stained Glass Heart”
“Old King’s Road”
“Goin’ Down With The Ship”
“Keep Your Eye On You”
“One Foot Outta The Grave”
“Fist Fulla Dynamite”
“Get On”
“Magic Carpet Ride” (feat. Slash)

See also:

Michael Monroe to release best of collection
Michael Monroe premieres Goin’ Down With The Ship video
Michael Monroe premieres Old King’s Road video
Michael Monroe unveils Blackout States album details
Search Michael Monroe at hennemusic