Wednesday, July 12, 2017

David Bowie box set highlights Berlin trilogy

David Bowie’s "Berlin trilogy" and other projects from the late 1970s are featured in the forthcoming 11-disc box set, “A New Career In A New Town (1977-1982).”

Due September 29, the project focuses on Bowie’s three collaborations with musician Brian Eno and producer Tony Visconti – 1977’s “Low”, “Heroes”, and 1979’s “Lodger” – following the singer’s move to West Berlin in late 1976.

The package delivers remastered editions of the three records alongside the “Heroes E.P.” – which features German and French versions of the title song – a 2017 Tony Visconti mix of “Lodger”, the 1978 live album “Stage” and a 2017 version with two unreleased live tracks ("Jean Genie," "Suffragette City"), and 1980’s “Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps).”

The box also includes “Re:Call 3”, a compilation of singles, non-album singles, b-sides and soundtrack material alongside Bowie’s recording of the German modernist playwright Bertolt Brecht's “Baal.”

“A New Career In A New Town (1977-1982)” will be available as an 11-CD, 13-LP and digital release.

Fans who pre-order the box set will receive an instant download of the rare "Beauty And The Beast (Extended Version)," found on "Re:Call 3", which can be heard below.

“A New Career In A New Town (1977-1982)” follows 2015's “Five Years 1969–1973” and 2016's “Who Can I Be Now? (1974–1976)” as the third in a series of packages spanning Bowie’s catalog.

Bowie passed away from liver cancer on January 10, 2016 at the age of 69.

David Bowie
“A New Career In A New Town (1977-1982)”

Release date: September 29

"Low" (Remastered) (1CD)
“Heroes” (Remastered) (1CD)
“Heroes” E.P. (Remastered) (CD EP)
"Stage" (Original Mix) (Remastered) (2CD)
Stage (2017 Mix) (Remastered) (2CD)
Lodger (Remastered) (1CD)
Lodger (Tony Visconti 2017 Mix) (1CD)
Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps) (1CD)
Re:Call 3 (1CD)

Re:Call 3 (Non-Album Singles, Single Versions and B-sides)

01. “‘Heroes'”/ (Single Version)
02. “Beauty And The Beast” (Extended Version)
03. “Breaking Glass” (Australian Single Version)
04. “Yassassin” (Single Version)
05. “D.J.” (Single Version)
06. “Alabama Song”
07. “Space Oddity” (1979 Version)
08. “Ashes To Ashes” (Single Version)
09. “Fashion” (Single Version)
10. “Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps)” (Single Version)
11. “Crystal Japan”
12. “Under Pressure” (Single Version) – Queen and David Bowie

Bertolt Brecht’s Baal

13. “Baal’s Hymn”
14. “Remembering Marie A.”
15. “Ballad Of The Adventurers”
16. “The Drowned Girl”
17. “The Dirty Song”


18. “Cat People (Putting Out Fire)” (Soundtrack Album Version)
19. “Peace On Earth/Little Drummer Boy” * – David Bowie and Bing Crosby

See also:

David Bowie sweeps five Grammy Awards
David Bowie’s final recordings set for CD and vinyl release
David Bowie honored with UK Royal Mail stamp collection
Family tributes mark first anniversary of David Bowie’s death
Search David Bowie at hennemusic