Thursday, August 31, 2017

Pearl Jam: Mike McCready previews The Glamour And The Squalor release

Pearl Jam guitarist Mike McCready is streaming three tunes from the September 1 release of the Original Motion Picture Score for the 2015 film, “The Glamour & The Squalor.”

“You’re The Song” features guest vocals by Kim Virant, formerly of 90s-era Seattle rockers Lazy Susan.

McCready teams up with Troy Nelson and Mackenzie Mercer, two members of the Seattle band The Young Evils, on “Sean Mac On A Horse On A Boat.”

The instrumental track, “Young-ish”, completes the latest preview, which follows the recent debut of “Grandmother Earth.”

“I love this one because it just sounds kinda crunchy and plodding with guitar riffs and solos all over it,” says music supervisor Kevin Moyer. “Halfway through it breaks into this really pretty and atmospheric uplifting part, and then it comes back down again.”

Directed by Marq Evans, “The Glamour & The Squalor” traces the life and career of influential Seattle DJ Marco Collins, who made a name for himself at KNDD 107.7 The End by helping break artists like Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Foo Fighters, Beck, The Presidents Of The United States Of America and others.

“Thanks to Marco for allowing me to help his story,” says McCready. “And to the entire cast and crew for The Glamour and The Squalor film. This is also in remembrance of all the musicians from Seattle who aren’t here anymore, but their music remains…”

The Original Motion Picture Score will be issued simultaneously alongside the film’s Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, which mixes audio clips from the project with songs by Violent Femmes, No Doubt, Bush, Garbage and more.

Learn more about “The Glamour & The Squalor” at the film’s website here.

McCready and Pearl Jam will debut their concert film, “Let’s Play Two”, and release its companion soundtrack album on September 29.

Directed by Danny Clinch, the project captures footage from the final two shows of the band’s 2016 North American tour at Wrigley Field in Chicago, IL last August.

The Glamour & The Squalor
"Original Motion Picture Score"

Release date: September 1

01. Darkness – Mike McCready
02. Lightness – Mike McCready
03. Young-ish – Mike McCready
04. Grandmother Earth – Mike McCready
05. Windless – Mike McCready
06. Tried & True – Mike McCready
07. Northern / Falling Apart – Mike McCready
08. Southern / Coming Together – Mike McCready
09. Sean Mac On A Horse On A Boat – Mike McCready, Troy Nelson & MacKenzie Mercer
10. Meridian Suns – Mike McCready
11. You’re the Song – Mike McCready, Kim Virant
12. Love Wins – Mike McCready
13. Tree Fractal – Mike McCready
14. Safe Room – Mike McCready
15. Altered – Mike McCready
16. Outside – Mike McCready
17. A Revolution of the Heart – Mike McCready
18. Social Distraction – Mike McCready
19. Shrine Watcher – Mike McCready
20. Spaced Out – Mike McCready
21. Whole Level – Mike McCready
22. Moonlight Thieves – Mike McCready
23. Aspiring – Mike McCready
24. Descending – Mike McCready, MacKenzie Mercer
25. Tree Fractal (Reprise) – Mike McCready
26. Trying & Truer – Mike McCready
27. Connection – Mike McCready
28. Sky Accepted – Mike McCready
29. Don’t Let Go, Hold On – Mike McCready, Star Anna
30. Love Wins Again – Mike McCready
31. Radio Sign Off – Jeffrey Dorfman

See also:

VIDEO: Eddie Vedder performs Out Of Sand on Twin Peaks
Pearl Jam to release Let’s Play Two concert film and soundtrack album
Pearl Jam: Mike McCready streams The Glamour And The Squalor score preview
VIDEO: Pearl Jam preview Wrigley Field concert film Let's Play Two
Search Pearl Jam at hennemusic