Sunday, October 15, 2017

Bob Seger streams Lou Reed cover from new album I Knew You When

Bob Seger is streaming audio of his cover of Lou Reed’s 1989 track, “Busload Of Faith”, as a preview to the November 17 release of his latest album, “I Knew You When.”

Recorded in Nashville and Detroit and produced by Seger, the project is the follow-up to 2014’s “Ride Out”, which marked the singer’s highest US chart debut when that record entered the Billboard 200 at No. 3.

Alongside the Reed cover, the standard 10-track edition of “I Knew You When” delivers eight Seger originals and his take on Leonard Cohen’s 1992 song, “Democracy.”

The Deluxe Edition adds three tunes, including “Forward To The Past”, “Blue Ridge” and “Glenn’s Song”, Seger’s tribute to longtime friend and Eagles cofounder Glenn Frey, who passed away in 2016 and to whom the album is dedicated to.

Seger offered the song as both a free download and tribute to the late Eagles guitarist on the first anniversary of his passing in January.

"It's obviously not meant to be a hit," said the singer at the time. "There's no chorus per se or title section or anything. The idea was just to honor his memory and talk, very specifically, about my impression of him in 1966 when we first met."

The pair grew up in Detroit and were part of the same local rock scene of the mid-1960s.

Seger sang "Heartache Tonight" (a song he co-wrote for The Eagles in 1979) at Frey’s memorial ceremony, a performance he revived when the group received the Kennedy Center Honors last December.

The standard version of “I Knew You When” will be available on 130 gram vinyl and CD, while the deluxe version will be offered on CD, digital download and via select streaming services.

Seger recently postponed the remaining 19 dates on his Runaway Train tour “upon receiving his doctor’s orders to attend to an urgent medical issue concerning his vertebrae.”

Bob Seger
“I Knew You When”

Release date: November 17

01. "Gracile"
02. "Busload of Faith"
03. "The Highway"
04. "I Knew You When"
05. "I'll Remember You"
06. "The Sea Inside"
07. "Marie"
08. "Runaway Train"
09. "Something More"
10. "Democracy"
11. "Forward Into The Past" (Deluxe Album only)
12. "Blue Ridge" (Deluxe Album only)
13. "Glenn Song" (Deluxe Album only)

See also:

Bob Seger halts tour to address urgent medical issue
Bob Seger catalog now available via streaming services
Bob Seger announces North American tour
Bob Seger issues free song tribute to Glenn Frey of The Eagles
Search Bob Seger at hennemusic