Thursday, October 5, 2017

Judas Priest, Dire Straits, The Cars among 2018 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame nominees

Judas Priest, Dire Straits, The Cars and Bon Jovi are among the nominees for induction into the 2018 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame.

The Cleveland-based institution revealed the full list of 19 artists on Wednesday, which also includes Radiohead, Rage Against The Machine and The Moody Blues, among others.

To be eligible for nomination, an individual artist or band must have released its first single or album at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination.

2018 marks the first year of eligibility for Radiohead and Rage Against The Machine, and first nominations for Kate Bush, Dire Straits, Eurythmics, Judas Priest, The Moody Blues, Nina Simone and Sister Rosetta Tharpe.

Bon Jovi, Depeche Mode, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan and Link Wray received their second ballot entry; The Cars, MC5 and The Zombies are making their third appearance; LL Cool J and The Meters snagged their fourth listing; and, it’s the fifth ballot for The J. Geils Band.

Ballots will be sent to an international voting body of more than 900 artists, historians and members of the music industry.

According to Rolling Stone, in keeping with a new tradition that began last year, the Hall Of Fame has announced the individual members of each band that will be honored.

Judas Priest has featured many lineups over the past five decades, but the Hall Of Fame selected vocalist Rob Halford, bassist Ian Hill, guitarists Glenn Tipton and K.K. Downing, and drummers Scott Travis, Les Binks and Dave Holland.

Dire Straits members Mark Knopfler, bassist John Illsley, drummer Pick Withers, guitarist David Knopfler and keyboardists Alan Clark and Guy Fletcher appear on the ballot.

Bon Jovi is listed along with former guitarist Richie Sambora (who left in 2013) and original bassist Alec John Such, who left in 1994.

The current Depeche Mode lineup of Dave Gahan, Martin Gore and Andy Fletcher is listed along with former keyboardist Alan Wilder (who left in 1995) and original keyboardist/band co-founder Vince Clarke, who after just one album and went on to form Yazoo and Erasure.

For the sixth year in a row, fans can have a say in the process: from now to December 5, fans can cast votes for their favorites. The top five artists selected by the public will comprise a “fan’s ballot” that will be tallied along with the other votes to choose the 2018 inductees.

Fans will need to login with a Facebook account or email to vote, and voting is capped at one ballot per day.

Vote for your favorites at the Rock Hall website here.

The 2018 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame inductees will be announced in December; the ceremony will take place at the Public Auditorium in Cleveland, OH on April 14, 2018 and recorded for later broadcast by HBO, while SiriusXM will also carry a radio broadcast of the ceremony in April.

Details and ticket on-sale information for the event will be announced at a later date.

2018 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame nominees:

• Bon Jovi
• Kate Bush
• The Cars
• Depeche Mode
• Dire Straits
• Eurythmics
• J. Geils Band
• Judas Priest
• LL Cool J
• The MC5
• The Meters
• Moody Blues
• Radiohead
• Rage Against the Machine
• Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
• Nina Simone
• Sister Rosetta Tharpe
• Link Wray
• The Zombies

See also:

Judas Priest launch Road To Valhalla mobile game
Judas Priest share new album update
Judas Priest vocalist Rob Halford to release box set
AUDIO: Judas Priest stream live track from 30th anniversary Turbo reissue
Search Judas Priest at hennemusic