Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Aerosmith: Joe Perry to release first solo album in almost a decade

Aerosmith guitarist Joe Perry will release a new solo album, “Sweetzerland Manifesto”, on January 19.

His first full studio record since 2009’s “Have Guitar, Will Travel” sees Perry collaborating with guest vocalists Robin Zander of Cheap Trick, David Johansen and Terry Reid, and others including Johnny Depp, Zak Starkey and his own sons Tony and Roman Perry.

A cover of the 1960s protest song, “Eve Of Destruction”, and a pair of instrumentals round out the set, including “Spanish Sushi”, which was produced and arranged by The Perry Boys with Joe on guitars and bass, Roman adding synthesizer programming and Tony handling drum programming.

“It’s going to be interesting to see what songs people gravitate to,” says Joe, “because there’s such a wide variety of tunes.”

“Sweetzerland Manifesto” was recorded at Studio 1480 in Los Angeles and produced by Perry and Bruce Witkin, with Johnny Depp serving as executive producer and additional help from Jack Douglas who co-wrote and co-produced a number of tracks.

The package was engineered by Witkin and Tony Perry, with mixing by Tony Perry.

Joe and Aerosmith have been off the road since shutting down their fall tour of South America early after Steven Tyler was forced to return home for a medical procedure.

Joe Perry
“Sweetzerland Manifesto”

Release date: January 19, 2018

01. Rumble In The Jungle (instrumental)
02. I'll Do Happiness (ft. Terry Reid)
03. Aye, Aye, Aye (ft. Robin Zander)
04. I Wanna Roll (ft. David Johansen)
05. Sick & Tired (ft. Terry Reid)
06. Haberdasher Blues (ft. David Johansen)
07. Spanish Sushi (instrumental)
08. Eve Of Destruction (ft. Joe Perry)
09. I'm Going Crazy (ft. David Johansen)
10. Won't Let Me Go (ft. Terry Reid)

See also:

Steven Tyler updates health status following Aerosmith tour cancellation
REPORT: Steven Tyler suffered seizure in Brazil after Aerosmith concert
Aerosmith cancel shows following Steven Tyler medical emergency
Aerosmith working on new music
Search Aerosmith at hennemusic