Monday, November 13, 2017

VIDEO: Queen preview News Of The World 40th anniversary box set

Queen are previewing the November 17 release of a 40th anniversary edition of their 1977 album classic, “News Of The World”, with a new unboxing video for the package.

Led by the stadium anthems “We Will Rock You/We Are The Champions”, the UK band’s best-selling studio release peaked at No. 3 on the US Billboard 200 on its way to worldwide sales of 6 million copies, including 4 million in the States alone.

The 2017 3CD/1DVD/1LP package delivers engineer Bob Ludwig’s 2011 remaster of the album alongside two discs of bonus tracks, a DVD of a new one-hour documentary, and a pure analogue re-cut of the original vinyl LP direct from the unmastered analogue master mix tapes.

The “Raw Sessions” disc presents recently unearthed out-takes and rarities from the band's archives “mined deep from long-vaulted studio multi-track tapes, this extraordinary parallel album brings to light never-before-heard alternative versions of each of the album’s 11 tracks,” says the group. “Every lead vocal is different, as are most of the lead guitar parts and a great many other instrumental details.”

The disc of bonus tracks features a variety of previously-released but hard-to-find versions of “News Of The World” tracks recorded in concert, for radio shows, or in alternate mixes, including the band's entire five-song final live session recorded for BBC Radio in October 1977.

The DVD documentary “Queen: The American Dream” offers material filmed – on and off stage – during their 1977 US tour in support of the record, including footage from a Houston concert late in the year.

The 40th anniversary edition is rounded out with a selection of memorabilia from the period, including three posters and a 60-page book of images.

Queen and Adam Lambert are currently playing dates across Europe; the trek will include the band’s first full British tour in almost three years.

“News Of The World” 40th Anniversary Edition

Release date: November 17

CD 1: The Original Album (Bob Ludwig 2011 master)

01. “We Will Rock You”
02. “We Are The Champions”
03. “Sheer Heart Attack”
04. “All Dead, All Dead”
05. “Spread Your Wings”
06. “Fight From The Inside”
07. “Get Down, Make Love”
08. “Sleeping On The Sidewalk”
09. “Who Needs You”
10. “It’s Late”
11. “My Melancholy Blues”

CD2: Raw Sessions

01. “We Will Rock You” (Alternative Version)
02. “We Are The Champions” (Alternative Version)
03. “Sheer Heart Attack” (Original Rough Mix)
04. “All Dead, All Dead” (Original Rough Mix)
05. “Spread Your Wings” (Alternative Take)
06. “Fight From The Inside” (Demo Vocal Version)
07. “Get Down, Make Love” (Early Take)
08. “Sleeping On The Sidewalk” (Live in the USA, 1977)
09. “Who Needs You” (Acoustic Take)
10. “It’s Late” (Alternative Version)
11. “My Melancholy Blues” (Original Rough Mix)

CD3: Bonus Tracks

01. “Feelings Feelings”
02. “We Will Rock You”
03. “We Will Rock You (Fast)”
04. “Spread Your Wings”
05. “It’s Late”
06. “My Melancholy Blues”
07. “We Will Rock You”
08. “We Are The Champions”
09. “Spread Your Wings”
10. “Fight From The Inside”
11. “Get Down, Make Love”
12. “It’s Late” (USA Radio Edit 1978)
13. “Sheer Heart Attack” (Live in Paris 1979)
14. “We Will Rock You” (Live in Tokyo 1982)
15. “My Melancholy Blues” (Live in Houston 1977)

See also:

PRO VIDEO: Metallica rock Queen classic in Manchester
Queen stream unreleased Freddie Mercury version of All Dead, All Dead
Queen stream unreleased versions of We Will Rock You and We Are The Champions
VIDEO: Queen preview News Of The World 40th anniversary box set
Search Queen at hennemusic