Thursday, March 15, 2018

Roger Daltrey streams title track to new album As Long As I Have You

Roger Daltrey is streaming the title track to his forthcoming solo album, “As Long As I Have You”, which will be released on June 1.

Originally recorded by Garnet Mimms in 1964, the tune delivers a return to a vintage sound for The Who vocalist while marking his first single in 26 years.

“This is a return to the very beginning, to the time before Pete Townshend started writing our songs, to a time when we were a teenage band playing soul music to small crowds in church halls,” says Daltrey. “That's what we were, a soul band. And now, I can sing soul with all the experience you need to sing it. Life puts the soul in.

“I’ve always sung from the heart but when you’re 19, you haven’t had the life experience with all its emotional trials and traumas that you have by the time you get to my age. You carry all the emotional bruises of life and when you sing these songs, those emotions are in your voice. You feel the pain of a lost love. You feel it and you sing it and that's soul.

“For a long time, I've wanted to return to the simplicity of these songs,”
he adds, “to show people my voice, a voice they won't have heard before. It felt like the right time. It's where I am, looking back to that time, looking across all those years but also being here, now, in the soulful moment.”

Produced by Dave Eringa, “As Long As I Have You” mixes Daltrey originals alongside covers of songs by Stevie Wonder, Stephen Stills and Nick Cave.

The set features Who bandmate Townshend on seven tracks as well as guest performances from Mick Talbot (Dexys, The Style Council) on keyboards and Sean Genockey on lead guitar.

“As Long As I Have You” will be available on CD, 180g Black Vinyl, Limited 180g Red Vinyl housed in Polydor Disco Bag (available exclusively via and digital formats.

The Who rocker will headline London’s Royal Albert Hall in aid of Teenage Cancer Trust on March 22 as part of the charity’s annual concert series; Def Leppard, Kasabian and Nile Rodgers & Chic are among the week’s other headliners - full details are available at

Daltrey will perform The Who’s 1969 rock opera, “Tommy”, in its entirety during a summer US tour; the 13-date series will see the singer accompanied by members of The Who touring band and joined by some of the most prestigious orchestras in the United States, including the Boston Pops, the New York Pops and the Nashville Symphony.

Roger Daltrey
“As Long As I Have You”

Release date: June 1

01. As Long As I Have You
02. How Far
03. Where Is A Man To Go?
04. Get On Out Of The Rain
05. I’ve Got Your Love
06. Into My Arms
07. You Haven’t Done Nothing
08. Out Of Sight, Out Of Mind
09. Certified Rose
10. The Love You Save
11. Always Heading Home

See also:

Pete Townshend details Who Came First expanded reissue
The Who to release Live At The Fillmore East 1968
The Who: Roger Daltrey to perform Tommy on US tour
VIDEO: The Who rock Pinball Wizard on Tommy Live At The Royal Albert Hall
Search The Who at hennemusic